Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advertisements at the Modern Graphic History Library

A guide to finding advertisements in the MGHL collections

Getting Started

This page provides basic information about how to find resources and begin your research at MGHL. For more detailed information about types of materials and images you'll find in particular collections, see the "MGHL Periodicals Collections" and the "MGHL Archival Collections" tabs.

Finding Aids

A finding aid is a detailed guide that describes an archival collection and its contents. Looking through a finding aid will give you an idea of what kind of ads are in a particular collection.

  • Browse all of the MGHL finding aids
  • Search all of the MGHL finding aids (best if you have a particular product or brand in mind)

Visit MGHL

Because only a small fraction of what MGHL has is available online, we strongly encourage you to visit the library in person. Once here you can flip through magazines in our Periodicals Collections and browse images in the Charles Craver Collection tear sheets at your own pace. We encourage you to contact us before your visit so we can have the items you’re interested in ready for you when you arrive.

Ads from the Collection

Ad for Wrigley's Gum, McCalls, January 1930, illustrator unknown

From the Periodicals Collections