Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advertisements at the Modern Graphic History Library

A guide to finding advertisements in the MGHL collections

Ads from the Collection

Mario Ruben Cooper ad for Pontiac from the Saturday Evening Post, May 11, 1940

From the Charles Craver Collection

Al Parker ad for American Airlines, November 1952

From the Al Parker Collection

Ad from Dressvertizing Weekly, April1950, illustrator unknown

From the Fashion Advertising Collection

Fashion Advertising Collection

The Fashion Advertising Collection contains apparel-related trade publications comprised entirely of illustrated clothing ads for retailers throughout the U.S. and Canada. Issues range from 1947 to 1971, and titles include Dressvertizing Weekly, Sportswear on Parade, and Dresses in Review. See the Fashion Advertising Collection finding aid for more information.

Al Parker Collection

Al Parker was one of the most successful and influential illustrators of the mid-20th century. The Al Parker Collection contains his original artwork, personal papers and professional documents, and tear sheets from the 1930s to the 1960s. For more information, see the Al Parker Collection finding aid.

Subjects include:

  • food and drink
  • beauty and health
  • transportation
  • clothing
  • household items and appliances

Featured companies and brands include:

  • American Airlines
  • Ford Motor Cars
  • Chrysler
  • General Electric
  • Pacific Telephone
  • Jantzen Swimwear
  • Pfizer Pharmaceuticals
  • Chase and Sanborn Coffee
  • 7 Up
  • Office of War Information

Charles Craver Collection

The Charles Craver Collection contains hundreds of tear sheets (a page removed from a magazine) from the 1930s to the 1950s. Because the tear sheets are from a wide variety of magazines and illustrators, there is a great diversity in style and subject matter of the ads in this collection. For more information, see the Charles Craver Collection finding aid.

Subjects include:

  • food and drink
  • beauty and health
  • transportation
  • clothing
  • household items and appliances
  • tobacco products

Featured companies and brands include:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Cadillac
  • Proctor & Gamble
  • Pall Mall Cigarettes
  • Maxwell House Coffee
  • Birdseye Frozen Foods
  • Traveler's Insurance
  • Gulf Oil