Reminder: The Julian Edison Department of Special Collections requires an advance appointment to access materials.
1. Figure out what you want to use
Use the search tools to look at the online finding aids (inventories describing the collections)
- Most collections are not available online. You need to use the finding aids to locate what you want to use.
- Materials cannot be checked out, so usually you need to visit to do your research.
- Ask us if you can't find what you are looking for -- the staff is here to help you!
2. Make an appointment
- List of items you want to use (up to 6 books or boxes per day) giving complete citation
- Book author, title and call number (for things listed in the Classic Catalog)
- Collection title, ID, series, sub-series (if listed) and box number (as listed in the ASpace Finding Aid)
- AND tell us when you want an appointment (date, start time, and end time)
*All collections need advanced notice to use them; usually 2-3 business days is enough, but sometimes longer is needed.
Unsure what to request?
Email and request a consultation:
- Tell us a summary of your topic, and if any collections seem relevant
- Staff can discuss by email, or meet with you in-person or over zoom.
3. Use the Collections
Remember: Give yourself TIME to do the in-depth work needed using original, fragile, and unusual materials.
What to bring:
- Your notes about what you plan to use
- Laptop, tablet, camera, phone (optional)
- Pencil and paper (we have some you can use too)
Our primary piece of advice: PLAN AHEAD!
4. What if I cannot come to the library in person?
5. Why is this so complicated?
We want you to use the materials at Special Collections, however extra steps are needed to protect the materials so researchers can access it in the future.
- Advance appointments give the staff time time to locate your items in storage.
- Special Collections has millions of items, and digitizing them all is not practical. Instead summaries called finding aids provide an online way to see what is available to access when visiting.
- Filling out paperwork documenting what you use and for what purpose helps us keep track of what items are being used.
- No food, drink, or pens are allowed in the reading room to prevent any accidental spills that could damage unique or fragile items.
