The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG® represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.
Bibliographic survey of major issues in ancient history; from 1987, but still useful.
Finding Secondary Literature
Track down references.
Use Citation Linker to try to track down a reference you find in a bibliography.
For books check the title in the online catalog and find more books by clicking on subject headings and by browsing on nearby shelves.
Use Indexes and Databases.
L'Année philologique is the standard index for classical studies, although its coverage begins about three years before the present.
More recent coverage can be found using the Gnomon and TOCs-IN (Tables of Contents of Interest to classicists) databases. Archäologische Bibliographie (Dyabola) is a very comprehensive index of work in classical archaeology. It is not, however, for the faint of heart.
JSTOR is an indispensable full-text collections of scholarly journals. It includes many important journals for ancient history and classical studies. Note however, that in most cases there is a three to five year delay before journals are added to JSTOR: it does not contain the most recent scholarship.
Use Online Reference Works - they provide bibliographic references both to ancient sources and recent scholarship.