Contains many plays and their corresponding ephemera, both published and previously unpublished. Gift of Mary Wickes in honor of her parents Isabella & Frank Wickenhauser.
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles on Black Studies. Combines resources as: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and Black Literature Index.
Over 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field. Includes the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, and more.
Contains numerous multimedia sources on the published works of prominent African Americans.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the theory, method, and the history of American literature
African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field’s institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
The St. Louis American stands as a steadfast witness to the community, serving and reporting on the African American experience since its beginning in March 1928. It has evolved into the single largest weekly newspaper in Missouri. The newspaper has been a crucial voice in highlighting St. Louis's historical significance for African Americans, from its key location on the Underground Railroad in the early to mid-19th century, to the establishment of a vibrant Black community, and serving as an active hub for civil rights in the 20th century.
