Intersecting Identities
We can all recognize multiple identities in ourselves, and these may be in tension or in harmony with one another. As you look at these concept maps, think about your own identities.
- What connections do you make to various identities?
- What common vocabularies exist within your identities?
- When identities intersect, what conflicts may arise?
- How do you think your identity affects your academic work, like research, presenting, or writing papers?
Exploring Identities
Explore Identities through Research
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowIncludes current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from 115 publications and archival material. Updated quarterly. Learn more about this database
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
- Project MUSE Premium collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
