ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources, including (among others): Iter Italicum, P.O. Kristeller's listing of uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance, in Italian and other libraries around the world; the Iter Bibliography of more than 1 million records for articles, essays, books and reviews; and a growing list of related databases and web sites.
Digitized Primary Sources
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowWorks about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowA multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowUse Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Learn more about this database
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new windowScholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Learn more about this database.
- The Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945Focusing on women's history and feminist movements, provides access to more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact on others. Includes periodicals and monographs in 15 languages.
- Online Medieval Sources BibliographyA searchable bibliography of texts from private letters, wills, and household accounts to literary works, philosophical treatises, chronicles, court proceedings, church records, and a host of other documents written in the Middle Ages and now available in printed or online editions and translations.
- Regnum Francorum Online"This is a website about visualizing early medieval Europe on maps." The site includes a historical geographic database covering the Frankish kingdom from 300 to 900 CE. Locations on the maps are linked to historical source documents and other data.
- Digital ScriptoriumAn image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts, intended to unite scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
- FIOLA Franco-Italian Online Archive“The Franco-Italian On-Line Archive (FIOLA)" will be a database of all texts written in mixed French and Italian language from its earliest examples in the twelfth century to the Renaissance.” Two searchable texts, La Guerra di Attila and L'Entrée d'Espagne (and its Suite, commonly known as La Prise de Pamplune). are presented. Includes bibliographies. is a database of "all texts written in mixed French and Italian language from its earliest examples in the twelfth century to the Renaissance." Currently the following texts are online and searchable: La Guerra di Attila and L'Entrée d'Espagne and its suite, La Prise de Pamplune.
- Opera del Vocabolario Italiano, Consiglio Nazionale delle RicercheA searchable database of 1849 texts, mostly dated prior to 1375, including verse and prose works of Dante, Petrarch, Boccaccio and other writers. Created to aid in the compilation of the Tesoro della lingua italiana delle origini.
- Europeana Digital Library Newspapers ProjectEuropeana is a single access point to millions of digitised books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records sourced from throughout Europe. For more information about the project, visit: http://www.europeana-newspapers.eu/
- American Periodicals (1740 - 1940) This link opens in a new windowFull-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Learn more about this database
- Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text in publications from 1849 - 2013.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowUse Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Learn more about this database
- Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new windowBrings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. The Libraries have purchased Section I, Section II and Section IV.
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database
- Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new windowFirst published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive Navigation Guide
- Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889-2003) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. (Visit our Newspaper Research Guide for instructions on accessing current issues)
Center For Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries located in Chicago, Illinois. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States and material is generally available via interlibrary loan.