Michael Schaefer, History and Religious Studies Librarian
Kris Helbling, English and American Literature Librarian
From Oxford UP: The Oxford Bibliographies Online series "offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this [regularly updated] resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects."
Broaden your background knowledge. Try these sources to learn more about the historical, biographical, philosophical, cultural, scientific, and literary context of your topic(s) of inquiry.
Full-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series. Essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience. NOTE: Washington University Libraries do not subscribe to Shakespeare Survey. Please ignore those references in your results; you will not be able to get to the full-text.
Complete texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics enabling browsing by historical subject areas and includes extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality.
More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Learn more about this database.
Over 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics, written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world. Also lists over 22,000 works by date, country and genre. Covers canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian, and is extending its coverage of Italian, Spanish, Latin and Greek. Data can be arrayed by date, country and genre.
An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
An ever-expanding collection of up-to-date articles by leading scholars. Features detailed explanations of philosophical issues along with exhaustive bibliography. Particularly useful for understanding arguments or concepts.
