Use the Ancestry.com Genealogical Resource to Explore Family History
Why people do genealogical research?
Popular answers
-
They want to learn about their ancestors: who they were, what were they like, and what experiences they lived through
-
They want to pass down the information to current family members to allow them to become familiar with the individuals over the centuries, whose lives helped make them who they are today.
-
They want to honor their ancestors by bringing them back into the present and “re-introducing them to the many descendants they produced” [https://ancestralfindings.com/why-i-love-genealogy-and-you-should-too]
- Example of Accessible Documents
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowThis genealogical database provides family research records and information. The records are divided into three categories: Historical Records, Stories and Publications, and Photos and Maps. Historical Records contains census and voter lists; birth, marriage, and death records; immigration and emigration; military directories and members lists; court, land, wills, and financial records; and dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference. Stories and Collections contains slave narratives and selected newspapers and periodicals.
- Getting Started on Ancestry.com (14.04 min.) by Crista Cowan“New to family history? Join Crista Cowan for a look at simple steps for starting your family tree. She'll also highlight what to enter, how to enter it, and what to do next. Published on Sep 13, 2016.”
- Using Ancestry.com Like A Pro (34.40 min.) By Crista Cowan“Whether you've been doing genealogy research for 20 minutes or 20 years, there are always new things to learn. Join Crista Cowan for a sneak peek into how she sets up her computer, manages her research, and records her findings. You might just pick up a tip or two that will help you use Ancestry.com like a professional. Published on Feb 5, 2013.”
- Researching Newspapers to Find Genealogy Gold (25.57 min.) by Crista Cowan“Historical newspapers were the Facebook of their day - recording the comings and goings of everyone in town. Join Crista Cowan as she shows you how to find newspapers on Ancestry.com and how best to search them”.
- African American Research Challenges (23.29 min.) By Crista CowanExplores some of the more difficult research challenges faced by those exploring Black ancestors in America.
- Quick Tips for African American Family History Research (13.55) by Crista CowanCrista Cowan shares tips for locating African American ancestors.
- Top Tips for Beginning Jewish Family History Research (33.12 min.) By Crista CowanCrista Cowan shares some of the top tools and record collections that will help those tracing ancestors through their time in the United States back to the "old country."
- How to Prove Native American/Indian Ancestry (22.44 min.) by Crista CowanCrista Cowan, addresses the question: How do I prove my ancestors were Native American/Indian?
- Top Tips for Beginning Mexico Family History Research (23.54 min.) by Crista Cowan“Do you have Mexican ancestry? Crista Cowan shares some of the top tools and record collections that will help researchers find success in tracing their Mexican ancestors.