Research Guides: History 3810: Between Sand and Sea (Reynolds): Media sources

Full-Text Newspaper Databases

Al-Ahram (1875-2018)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
Newspapers are primarily in Arabic, but also in English and French. Also includes: al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel), al-Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), al-Riyadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan).

Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-1985)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003)
The Historical Guardian (1821-2003) and the Historical Observer (1791-2003) offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
Database offers full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles daily times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles times (1886-1989). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2005)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Palestine Post
The predecessor of the Jerusalem Post, Full text from 1932 – 1950
St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003)
Contains full text of the newspaper St. Louis post-dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants.
The Times Digital Archive
a full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-1985. See also the Centenary Archive of the Times Literary Supplement
Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889-1991)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Press Reader
Recent and current issues of 1000 newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. Page view images, audio files, and more. 3 concurrent users so please sign out when finished.
LexisNexis Academic
Major U.S./world publications (English/non-English), news wires/transcripts, TV-radio-broadcast transcripts, blogs, web publications, legal, university, healthcare, media reviews, etc.
Newspaper Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts over 25 regional and national newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times.

more... less...

1989–present
Ethnic News Watch
a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

more... less...

1990–present
AP Images
An electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. Access to this site is limited to WU students, faculty, and staff.
Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor is an international news organization that delivers thoughtful, global coverage via its website, weekly magazine, daily news briefing, email newsletters, and mobile site. We're also free to be an independent voice, devoid of the corporate allegiances and pressures that critics say too often skew today's media.