Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Business Research

This guide lists database and internet resources for international business research.

Internet Resources

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.

ASEAN Statistical Yearbook

Comprehensive statistical resource for the ASEAN nations, including population, health, economic, tourism, trade and more. Published annually.

Access: Available to everyone

BRASS International Business Guide

This guide highlights resources for international business information.

Access: Available to everyone

Business Statistics from GovHK

Links to Hong Kong government and business statistics.

Access: Available to everyone

Country Commercial Guides on Export.gov (International Trade Administration)

Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.         

Access: Available to everyone 

DataWeb

USITC DataWeb provides U.S. merchandise trade and tariff data in a user friendly web interface. Trade data for 1989 to the present are available on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis and can be retrieved using a sophisticated querying tool with features such as user defined country and commodity groups.

Access: Available to everyone                                               

Doing Business (The World Bank)
The Doing Business database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 190 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth.

Access: Available to everyone        

Export.gov (International Trade Administration)

Economists and trade experts analyze and rank industry opportunities in key overseas markets. The reports provide a detailed assessment of the competitiveness landscape within a sector.

Access: Available to everyone

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)

Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis website with links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.

Access: Available to everyone

Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Provides limited information on global markets, economic research and financial services and infrastructure.

Access: Available to everyone

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

The Center for Pacific Basin Studies promotes cooperation among central banks in the Pacific Basin and provides insight into and analysis of economic policy issues affecting the region.

Access: Available to everyone

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Economic Data (FRED)
This site is maintained by the Federal Reserve of St. Louis. A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Download data into Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.

Access: Available to everyone

Fortune Global 500

The Global 500 is the international version of Fortune’s standard “500” list, which focuses only on America’s largest corporations. This is a handy site for identifying large global companies and the countries they are headquartered in.

Access: Available to everyone

International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
Approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes exchange rates, fund accounts and the main global and country economic indicators.

Access: Available to everyone

International Trade Administration Research Center

Economists and trade experts analyze and rank industry opportunities in key overseas markets. The reports provide a detailed assessment of the competitiveness landscape within a sector, country and trade topic.

Access: Available to everyone

National Accounts of Japan

Japanese economic data, including annual and quarterly reporting on national accounts.

Access: Available to everyone

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Statistical information from a wide variety of sources prepared by the NBER. Emphasis is on U.S. but some other country data is also available. Also contains NBER Working Papers.   

Access: Available to everyone                                      

National Bureau of Statistics of China

The National Bureau of Statistics is in charge of statistics and economic accounting in China. 

Access: Available to everyone

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library
Online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. Downloadable charts and graphs include the background data from which the chart or graph was made.

Access: Available to everyone

Population Reference Bureau DataFinder

Demographic and other population-related statistics; choose a geography for a list of available statistics.

Access: Available to everyone

Survey of Current Business
A U.S. Department of Commerce monthly publication that provides data on U.S. business on the regional, national, and international levels. Among statistical series covered are personal income, inventories and sales, national income and product accounts, foreign direct investment in the United States, U.S. direct investment abroad, international transactions, and gross state product.

Access: Available to everyone

Trade Stats Express

Interactive tool generating tables and graphics detailing annual and quarterly year-to-date U.S. goods trade data from 2002 to the most recently available quarter based upon user-specified options. Data are available for individual countries, trade & economic groups, or geographic regions, and can be tabulated using any of three product classification systems: HS (up to 4-digit level), NAICS (up to 4-digit level), or SITC (up to 3-digit level).

Access: Available to everyone

Trade Policy Information System (TPIS)

Dynamically generate tables and charts detailing historical trade by U.S. top trade partners or U.S. top products. Historical data are available from 2000 to the most recent month year-to-date and can be detailed by individual country, trade & economic group, or geographic region and tabulated using various product classification systems: NAICS (up to 6-digits), HS (up to 10-digits), SITC (up to 5-digits), End-Use Category (up to 5 digits), or Hi-Tech Products (up to 2 digits).

Access: Available to everyone

UNData

This site pulls together the numerous statistical databases maintained by the United Nations. Browse by country or topic. It is easy to search keywords across the data. A glossary is provided as well as a detailed description of each of the data sets.

Access: Available to everyone

U.S. Census Bureau - International Statistical Agencies

List of each country’s statistical agencies.

Access: Available to everyone

U.S. International Trade Data

Foreign Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.

Access: Available to everyone

World Bank Data

Comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe, including hundreds of indicators that go back 50 years. Databases include: World Development Indicators; Global Development Finance; Africa Development Indicators; Global Economic Monitor; Doing Business; Education Statistics; Health, Nutrition and Population Statistics, Millennium Development Indicators; Gender Statistic; and Actionable Governance Indicators. (Ongoing updates)

Access: Available to everyone

World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)

Contains overviews of each country in the world, including brief data on geography, people, government, the economy, membership in international organizations, communications, and defense forces. Maps and flags are available in various formats. Updated annually.

Access: Available to everyone