Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Company Research

This guide lists database and internet resources for company research.

Private Company and Directory Information

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.


Research Tip: It is difficult to find much of any information on private companies and almost impossible to obtain detailed financial information. For most private companies, the best you can hope for is to get total sales for the company, numbers of employees and when it was founded. In some cases, a local business publication (e.g. St. Louis Business Journal) has written an article on the company.


 

AtoZdatabases 

AtoZdatabases is the premier job ssearch, reference and mailing list database including 30 million business and executive profiles and 240 million residents.  Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, and employment opportunities.   

Access: Danforth Campus

CB Insights
CB Insights is the ideal tool for those engaged in private equity, venture capital, corporate development, investment banking, corporate innovation & strategy, angel investment and consulting. Whether it is deal sourcing, due diligence, or market and competitive intelligence, CBI has been created to assist you in discovering the right private company information in the most efficient, comprehensive way. Users will have to provide a wustl email address.

Hoover’s Online Business Network
This site contains in-depth company information including profiles, financials, officers, products, competitors and much more.                                                                                            

Access: Business School

Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Access: Danforth Campus

Sorkins
Company profiles and Business lists including multiple levels of executives and managers from all industries and professions throughout the Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City regions.          

Access: Business School only

ThomasNet (Thomas Publishing)

Product information for about 157,000 North American manufacturing companies. Includes 135,000 trade names organized into 50,000 product classes. (Updated quarterly)

Access: Available to everyone

Uniworld Online
Uniworld Online is the most trusted source for contact information of multinational companies. In 2015 Uniworld merged their two directories: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries is the authoritative source of information on American firms, which have branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates outside the United States. Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States is the source for global contact information of Foreign-owned businesses (non-American) with a presence in the United States.

Access: Business Library only