Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finance Research

This guide provides databases and resources for finance and finance related topics.

Company Financials & Analyst Reports

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.


AnnualReports.com

AnnualReports.com can be searched by company, stock exchange, and industry or sector. Users can also find links to Responsibility Reports as well as Investor Fact Sheets.

Access: Available to everyone

Bloomberg

The library has access to Bloomberg, a premier service sold primarily to institutional investors. This service provides real-time quote and graphical information for stocks, bonds, options, etc. It also has extensive news services. This service has tick information (i.e. intra-day individual trades) and historical price information. Note: Bloomberg is available on site at the Kopolow Library through the Bloomberg Terminals. There is no remote access for this service.

Company Annual Report – Most public companies will make their annual report available somewhere on their website as well as link to their filings with the SEC (EDGAR). Both the annual report and its SEC-filing counterpart, the 10-K, contain valuable information about the company. An annual report serves as an informational tool for the company’s shareholders. It generally contains pictures and grpahics and can give its readers a sense of the company’s style and culture. It also contains a “Letter to Shareholders” from the CEO that provides insight into a company’s vision and future plans.

Access: Available to everyone

EDGAR (U.S.SEC.gov) (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) 

Edgar provides the required regulatory filings of U.S. domestic public company and foreign private issuers offering securities on U.S. exchanges from 1996 to the present. Review company filed registration statements, prospectuses, proxy statements and other periodic reports such as the annual 10-K, the quarterly 10-Q and the 20-F for foreign issuers. Find out about a company’s strategic goals, expansion plans, financial performance, significant litigation and other major developments.

Access: Available to everyone

Eikon

Eikon provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools. For historical price information, you can also use Datastream.  Datastream can be accessed through Eikon. This service has the longest time series and covers companies traded on foreign exchanges.  Note: Eikon is available on site at the Kopolow Library for students. Faculty can have access to a separate account through their Business School computers. Accounts limited to one concurrent user at a time.

Factiva
This database combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. A great source for retrieving comprehensive financial information, news stories, articles, a list of key competitors and other useful information on public companies. Begin by clicking on “Companies/Markets” at the top of the home page and then entering the ticker symbol or company name. Limited to 6 concurrent users; logoff when done.                                                                  

Access: Danforth Campus

Hoover’s Online Business Network
(Click on Company Profiles and Financial) This site contains in-depth company information including profiles, financials, officers, products, competitors and more.

Access: Business School only

Rank and Filed

Rank and Filed bills itself as “SEC filings for humans” and provides a visual look at companies and when they file, what they file, their stock ownership, executives and boards of directors, and more.

Access: Business School only

S & P Capital IQ
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. This resource is widely used in the business community.

To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane ,zeggane@wustl.edu, 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2023, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Cap IQ account.

Access: Business School only

Thomson One
Our subscription includes some, but not all of the features available from the ThomsonOne database. Key portions that we receive are: broker/analyst reports; deals made by individual public companies; corporate governance information, including takeover defenses; fundamental comparables (compare your company to industry averages); consensus earnings estimates along with buy/hold/ sell recommendations of brokerage firms; corporate fillings (also available from the SEC Edgar) Note: Please use Internet Explorer with this database.

Access:  Danforth Campus