A Guide to Environmental Studies Resources

Thousands of journals and other publications covering most subjects. 

Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature.

Over 3 million American Geological Institute records, including abstracts, about geology and earth sciences. Updated biweekly.

Indexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies.

Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). 

The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.

SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. Sources include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Learn more about this database. NOTE: Requires user registration. Follow this link to register using your Washington University email address - Registration for SciFinder. Learn about using this database off campus.

AGRICOLA is a combined search between AGRICOLA, PubAg, and National Agriculture Library Digital Collections. Catalog and index of National Agriculture Library holdings from 1970 to date. Some content dates to the 15th century. 

Listing of publications available from the U.S. Government Printing Office.

Journals, books, images and primary sources.

Science Direct offers access to over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. While this database is best known for its collections in Science, Technology and Medicine, there is also strong coverage of journals in Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance. Some are subscribed by WashU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Click on Search to search all titles.