ENCYCLOPEDIA
Islamic and Arab Worlds
Oxford encyclopedia of philosophy, science, and technology in Islam by 
Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science by Ancient and Medieval
Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists by 
Science in the Ancient World by 
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine by Modern Era
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by 
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Galileo to Newton by United States of America
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology by 
History of Science in United States by Libraries / Information Storage and Retrieval
Encyclopedia of Library History by 
A History of Information Storage and Retrieval by Scientific Instruments
Instruments of Science by Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences by BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Latin America
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database.
Includes Mafia activities in Cuba, the Mexican Revolution, political instability in Latin America and foreign relations in Caribbean states. Click Additional Info below for a list of collections included in Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
Native America
Includes political, religious, legal, medical, commercial, and military perspectives of Native American history, from 1800 through the late 20th century. Click Additional Info below for a list of collections included in Native American Studies.
Newspapers, periodicals, manuscripts, monographs, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos from the 1600s to the 20th century. Also features video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Major partners include the National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, University of Alberta, Moravian Archives, Gonzaga University, Wichita State University, and more.
Asia
Covers Japan, China, and Korea from 1910 - 1950, a critical period of engagement with the Western nations. Click Additional Info below for a list of collections included in Asian Studies.
Europe
Includes United States classified country reports, newspapers, pamphlets, propaganda, and other primary sources. Click Additional Info below for a list of collections included in British and European History.
Digitized books in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
You can search for images in printed volumes by multiple means, but the most efficient would be perform and advanced search with your [topic or place keyword] in Any Field and AND "pictorial works" in the SUBJECT box. Below are some examples:
Celestial Mirror: The astronomical observatories of Jai Singh II by 
Drawing Physics: 2,600 years of discovery from Thales to Higgs by 
Museum of the History of Science, Oxford by 
Cosmic imagery: Key images in the history of science by 
Mutter Museum Historic Medical Photographs by 
From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story by 
Science and Technology in Medicine: An illustrated account by Journal index. Article citations about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Analyses of current political, economic, and social issues as well as unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters.
