Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Science, Medicine, and Technology

Required Texts

If you prefer not to buy the required texts for this course, you can read from a copy on 2-hour reserve at Olin Library. However, there is only one copy there, and it has a maximum loan period of two hours. There are other, free ways to access your required readings. If WUSTL Libraries do not have a copy, you may be able to borrow one through MOBIUS.

D. Arnold, Colonizing the Body: State Medicine and Epidemic Disease in 19th-century India - WUSTL eBook * MOBIUS  

B. Duden, Woman Beneath the Skin: A Doctor's Patients in 18th-c. Germany - WUSTL * MOBIUS 

D. Goodman, ed., Marie Antoinette: Writings on the Body of a Queen - MOBIUS 

T. Laqueur, Making Sex: Body and Gender from the Greeks to Freud - WUSTL print or eBook * MOBIUS hardback or paperback 

J. Moscoso, Pain: A Cultural History - MOBIUS  

R. Richardson, Death, Dissection, and the Destitute - MOBIUS 1987 or 1989 or 2000 ed.

C. Usborne, Cultures of Abortion in Weimar Germany - WUSTL eBook 

Relevant Subject Headings

Journal article databases

Use these selected databases to find secondary sources to inform your primary sources.  For a complete list, see the "A-Z Databases list" link on the left.

Older print general periodical indexes

Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Print Collections

The subheading "sources" indicates a bound collection (book) of primary sources. You can either search known subject heading strings for the final subheading of "sources," or you can use "sources" as a keyword along with other keywords. 

Primary Source Databases

WU Libraries have purchased access to a number of primary source databases. There are a number of ways of finding them:

Library Homepage ►Find a Database ►Full A-Z Database List ► History of Science, Medicine, & Technology (under All Subjects) ► Primary Sources (under All Database Types)

You can scroll through all 427 primary source databases, or you could search these primary source databases for keywords (like "newspapers").