Sometimes Quick Search is too broad and doesn't have the right tools to hone your search. These subject-specific databases will help you more narrowly review literature from the fields of literary studies, film & media studies, and more.
From the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Index and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews. Full text. Learn more about this database.
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields. Includes coverage of over 1,000 core titles and features full-text for more than 600 active periodicals.
These tools can help you find full text of an article when you have a citation (Citation Linker) or when you see references to articles or paywalled articles online (Libkey Nomad). They will save you a lot of time!
