Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to World History

Reference Works - A Place to Begin

Oxford Research Encyclopedias - eBook; new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics including Asian History. Keep in mind WUSTL only owns full access Oxford Classical Dictionary and Latin American History; you will have to InterLibrary Loan request any entry you find in other collections. 

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views...(Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Pub. Group, 2009) - eBook; provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from "Adoption" and "Banking" to "Wound Literature" and the "Zhou Dynasty."

Eminent Chinese of the Ch'ing Period, 1644-1912, Arthur W. Hummel, ed. (Folkestone, Kent, UK: Global Oriental, 2010) - eBook

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Traditional Chinese Culture (Abingdon, Oxon; New York: Routledge, 2020) - eBook

Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Farmington Hills, MI: Thomson/Gale, 2004) – eBook; has entries for “Central Asia,” “Central Asia, Buddhist Art in,” “China,” “China, Buddhist Art in,” and “Folk Religion, China”

The Encyclopaedia of Islam 3rd ed. (Leiden: Brill, 2002-) - eBook

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World John L. Esposito, ed. (New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2009) - eBook

Jeong, Su-il. The Silk Road Encyclopedia (Irvine, CA: Seoul Selection, 2016) - eBook

Atwood, Christopher Pratt, 1964- . Encyclopedia of Mongolia and the Mongol empire (New York: Facts On File, 2004) - print

Xizang bai ke quan shu / Encyclopedia of Tibet / 西藏百科全书 (Lasa : Xizang ren min chu ban she, 2005) - print; noncirculating

Academic Journal Article Databases

World History

Historical Abstracts (1955- ) contents include world history journals from 1450 to the present

English Language Journals on Chinese Studies

Chinese Studies Librarian's Guide

CAJ -- China Academic Journals Full-text Database (English interface)

Chinese Language Journal Article Databases

Chinese Studies Librarian's Guide

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR - multidisciplinary, a lot of full text articles, but subject headings are too broad

Academic Search Complete (1975-present) - multidisciplinary; subject headings may or may not be LCSH; made by EBSCO, so allows the broadening to all EBSCO databases or narrowing to subject-specific databases like America: HIstory & Life

JSTOR v. Academic Search Complete

Project MUSE - consists of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.

Scopus - The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers.

Google Scholar - articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable you to get full text for all articles for which to WashU community has access  

Primo - is the Washington University Libraries' new search tool. It provides one-stop access to the Libraries’ collections by searching across hundreds of catalogs, indexes, and databases. Primo is a great place to begin your research because it searches multiple library resources through one interface.

Google Scholar v. Primo

Primary Sources