Skip to Main Content

WashU History FAQ

Frequently asked questions about the history of Washington University in St. Louis (Missouri, USA). Pages maintained by University Archives.

Chairmen of the Board of Trustees, 1854-present Washington University in St. Louis

William Greenleaf Eliot, 1854-1887

George E. Leighton, 1887-1895

Robert S. Brookings, 1895-1928

William K. Bixby, 1928-1930

Charles Nagel, 1930-1932

Malvern Bryan Clopton, 1932-1942

Harry Brookings Wallace, 1942-1951

Ethan A.H. Shepley, 1951-1954

James M. Douglas, 1954-1961

Ethan A.H. Shepley, 1961-1963

James S. McDonnell, 1963-1966

Charles Allen Thomas, 1966-1977

Maurice R. Chambers, 1977-1979

George H. Capps, 1979-1982

W.L. Hadley Griffin, 1982-1988

Lee M. Liberman, 1988-1995

William H. Danforth, 1995-1999

John F. McDonnell, 1999-2004

David W. Kemper, 2004-2009

Stephen F. Brauer, 2009-2014

Craig D. Schnuck, 2014-2019

Andrew E. Newman, 2019-