Look It Up!
Basic Sources
Starting Points
Comments (0)
Search the DNB
Finding Biographical Monographs
To find book-length biographies, use Washington University Libraries' catalog. Enter the name of the individual (last name first) as a subject.
You may also enter a profession and then locate the catalog entries under [Profession] -- Biography.
Biographical Indexes
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Two concurrent users allowed; please log-out when done - Biography Reference Bank
One concurrent user allowed; please log-out when done - WBIS: World Biographical Information System Online

International & National Biographies
- International - Biography Reference Bank
One concurrent user allowed; please log-out when done - International - LexisNexis Biographies Plus

- International - Marquis Who's Who on the Web

- International - Obituaries - Legacy.com

- America - American National Biography
One concurrent user allowed; please log-out when done - America - The National Cyclopedia of American Biography

- Australia - Australian Dictionary of Biography

- Austria - Österreichisches Biographisches Lexikon 1815-1950
Can be searched online, but we do not subscribe to the full-text. - Belgium - Biographie Nationale

- Canada - Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online

- Czech Republic - Biographisches Lexikon zur Geschichte der Böhmischen Länder

- France - Dictionnaire de Biographie Française

- France - Who's Who in France

- Germany - Deutsche Biographie

- Great Britain - Debrett's People of Today

- Great Britain - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Three concurrent users allowed; please log-out when done - Ireland - Dictionary of Irish Biography

- Italy - Dizionario Biografico Degli Italiani

- Netherlands - Nieuw Nederlandsch Biografisch Woordenboek

- Wales - The Dictionary of Welsh Biography Down to 1940

Law - Biographies
- The History of the Supreme Court of the United States: with biographies of all the chief and associate justices (1904)

- The Lives of the Chief Justices of England: from the Norman conquest till the death of Lord Tenterden (1899)

- Recollections and Sketches of Notable Lawyers and Public Men of Early Iowa Belonging to the First and Second Generations / with anecdotes and incidents illustrative of the times (1916)

- Who's Who in Jurisprudence: a biographical dictionary of contemporary lawyers and jurists with a complete geographical index (1925)

Literary Biographies
- Dictionary of Literary Biography

- American Writers Before 1800: A Biographical and Critical Dictionary

- Biographical Companion to Literature in English (1997)

- British Authors Before 1800: a biographical dictionary

- British Playwrights, 1880-1956: a research and production sourcebook

- British Playwrights, 1956-1995: a research and production sourcebook

- Contemporary Authors

- Contemporary Poets (2001)

- Contemporary World Writers (1993)

- Cyclopedia Of World Authors

- Deutsches Schriftstellerlexikon: Ein Who's Who der Deutschsprachigen Literatur

- European Authors, 1000-1900: a biographical dictionary of European literature

- Fifth Book of Junior Authors & Illustrators

- Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000

- Killy Literaturlexikon (German-language authors from the Middle Ages to the present)

- Literary Encyclopedia

- Literary Index (Gale)

- Literature Online (LION Complete)
Four concurrent users allowed; please log-out when done - Metzler Autoren Lexikon : deutschsprachige Dichter und Schriftsteller vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart

- Nobel Prize in Literature (Nobelprize.org)

- World Authors (Wilson authors series, 1950 - current)

- Writer's Directory

Politics - Biographies
- A Biographical Congressional Directory with an outline history of the National Congress (1912)

- Biographical Dictionary of the United States Congress (1774-present)

- Biographical Directory of the American Congress 1774-1927

- Biographical Directory of the American Congress 1774-1961

- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present

- Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007

- Dictionary of Political Biography

- Directors of Central Intelligence as Leaders of the U.S. Intelligence Community, 1946-2005

- Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-1995

- History of the Cabinet of the United States of America, from President Washington to President Coolidge

- The Lord Chancellors of Scotland: from the institution of the office to the treaty of union

- Presiding Ladies of the White House: containing biographical appreciations together with a short history of the executive mansion and a treatise on its etiquette and customs (1903)

- World Leaders

Religion - Biographies
Scientists - Biographies
- American Men & Women of Science

- American Women of Science Since 1900

- The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists (1994)

- Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists

- A Century of Nobel Prizes Recipients: chemistry, physics, and medicine

- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (DSB)

- A Dictionary of Scientists

- The Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists : the Greek tradition and its many heirs

- Nobelprize.org

Women - Biographies
- 400 Outstanding Women of the World and Costumology of Their Time (1933)

- American Women of Science Since 1900

- Biographies of Representative Women of the South, 1861-[1938]

- Black Women in America

- A Book of Duchesses: studies in personality (1913)

- Brown Sugar: over one hundred years of America's Black female superstars

- Career Women of America (1941)

- A Collection of Biographies of Women Who Made a Difference in Alabama (1995)

- Dictionary of Women Worldwide: 25,000 women through the ages

- An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films, 1895-1930

- Famous Women: an outline of feminine achievement through the ages with life stories of five hundred women

- Homespun Heroines and Other Women of Distinction

- The JPS Guide to Jewish Women: 600 B.C.E.-1900 C.E.

- Notable American Women, 1607-1950: a biographical dictionary, Vol. 1

- Notable American Women, 1607-1950: a biographical dictionary, Vol. 2

- Notable American Women, 1607-1950: a biographical dictionary, Vol. 3

- Notable American Women: the modern period - a biographical dictionary

- Notable American Women: a biographical dictionary completing the twentieth century

- Notable Women in History: the lives of women who in all ages, all lands and in all womanly occupations have won fame and put their imprint on the world's history (1913)

- Notable Women of St. Louis (1914)

- Our Army Nurses: interesting sketches, addresses, and photographs of nearly one hundred of the noble women who served in hospitals and on battlefields during our Civil War (1895)

- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History

- Presiding Ladies of the White House: containing biographical appreciations together with a short history of the executive mansion and a treatise on its etiquette and customs (1903)

- Remarkable Women of France (from 1431 to 1749)

- Sainted Women of the Dark Ages

- Sketches of Representative Women of New England (1904)

- The St. James Women Filmmakers Encyclopedia: women on the other side of the camera

- The Texas Women's Hall of Fame (1917)

- Woman, Her Position, Influence and Achievement Throughout the Civilized World: her biography, her history, from the Garden of Eden to the twentieth century (1902)

- Woman in History (1908)

- Women in World History: a biographical encyclopedia

- Women of Distinction: remarkable in works and invincible in character (1893)

- The Women of My Time by Janet E. Courtney (1934)

- The Women of the American Revolution (1900)

- The Women of the Bible: a portrait gallery (1911)

- Women of the Church of England (1908)

- Women of the French Revolution

Miscellaneous Specialized Biographies
- Biographical Texts from Ramessid Egypt

- The Grove Book of Opera Singers

- The Kings & Queens of Britain

- The Leadership Library
One concurrent user allowed; please log-out when done - Nobelprize.org

- Obituaries - Legacy.com

- The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists

- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

- Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism

- The St. James Film Directors Encyclopedia

- The Terrorist List

- Who's Who Among African Americans

- Who's Who in Orthopedics

- Who's Who in the Classical World

- Who's Who in the Twentieth Century





Loading...
