Skip to main content
First World War
Search this Guide
First World War
Course guide for History 3598, "The First World War and the Making of Modern Europe".
A-Z Databases list
Journal article databases for "The First World War and the Making of Modern Europe"
Arts & Humanities
Indexes journal articles and books on world history from 1450 to the present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
Note that in many cases it may not include the most recent 3 to 5 years. Also, most of the ebooks included are not part of our subscription.
SocINDEX (1895- )
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
GenderWatch (1974- )
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
PsycINFO (1887- )
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, mongraphs, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975- )
Covers political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Indexes articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from the 19th century to present.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (1939- )
Covers cultural studies in East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
EconLit with Full Text (1969- )
Indexes and abstracts for 400+ journals and 500+ collected works per year, including books, dissertations, and working papers.
Communication Abstracts (1977 - )
Includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines, such as film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
MLA International Bibliography (1926 - )
Covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
ATLA Religion Database (1949- )
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
Art Full Text (1984 - )
One of several databases that index articles in art journals. See the Art History Research Guide, http://libguides.wustl.edu/arthistory, for more.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
International Index to Music Periodicals (1995 - )
IIMP includes a wide range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals. (3 concurrent users allowed)
International Index to the Performing Arts (1997 - )
If you are interested in theater. (3 concurrent users allowed)
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975-)
HSTM integrates 4 bibliographies. (5 concurrent users allowed)
Web of Science (1900-2016 )
Also includes lots of social sciences and a smattering of the arts and humanities.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary journal index; a good place to start when you're not sure which database to choose. Includes full-text for nearly 8,500 publications and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals.
Periodicals Archive Online
Includes many different publications during the 20th century. You may limit to country of publication.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
General interest periodical index; mostly American but some British. (4 concurrent users allowed)
Older print scholarly journal indexes
Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature (1911- )
International Bibliography of Historical Sciences (1926- )
Writings on British History (1901-75)
Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History (1975- )
Older print general periodical indexes
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900- ) [print]
General interest periodical index; mostly American but some British.
International Index to Periodical Literature (1907-55) [print]
Similar to Readers' Guide (above), but the periodicals are more scholarly.
Oct 4, 2017 10:16 AM
Login to LibApps