First World War

this portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives; and A Global Conflict. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.

an online resource that contains over 700 encyclopedia entries plus 250 peer-reviewed articles of transnational and global historical perspectives on significant topics of World War I. This collection includes Brill's Encyclopedia of the First World War, an unrivalled reference work that showcases the knowledge of experts from 15 countries and offers 26 additional essays on the major belligerents, wartime society and culture, diplomatic and military events, and the historiography of the Great War.

As an example, see the article on World War I Poetry.

Contains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. (5 concurrent users allowed)

'An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.' (3 concurrent users allowed)

Full-text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, covering all subjects.

'The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history,and pronunciation of over half a million words.