Research Guides: Archives: World War I : WWI & St. Louis

Collections related to WWI

This page contains an overview of collections that document events in St. Louis and Washington University's connections to the Great War (World War I ). Topics include home-front activities, military involvement, Red Cross programs, and the 1918 Influenza pandemic.

Contact Special Collections for information about accessing the items described below:

Arthur W. Proetz Papers
Series 03: World War I Memorabilia (includes 4 boxes of letters, a diary, photographs, sketches, and scrapbooks)
more...less...
Arthur Proetz was born in St. Louis in 1888, and died in St. Louis in 1966. He was a graduate of Washington University (1910) and the Washington University Medical School (1912).
Dan Bartlett Collection
This collection consists of various clothing articles, ephemeral materials, maps, photographs, and personal accouterments required by a World War I soldier.
WU Memorial Association Records
This collection includes meeting minutes, correspondence with members, and fundraising materials of the Washington University Memorial Association (WUMA) along with War Record forms that include information on WU people and their involvement in World War I.

A plaque hangs on the Ridgly Hall arcade honoring those in the University community who died during in World War I

Leroy Robbins Papers
three newspaper scrapbooks that belonged to Col. Leroy Robbins and chronicle the establishment, deployment, and exploits of the Fifth Regiment of the Missouri National Guard
Edna Gellhorn Papers
Mrs. Edna Fischel Gellhorn was active in many civic projects. During World War I, she served as regional director of the food rationing programs. See especially Series 3:
Box 10 (U. S. Food Administration, 1918)
Box 11 (World War I Mementos)
and Series 9:
Drawer 9.1 (WWI U.S. Food Administration Posters)
W. Roy Mackenzie Papers (English Faculty)
Mackenzie’s notes from courses that he taught at WU, a few personal writings, and numerous items that chronicle his interest in military matters from World War I and World War II.
St. Louis Car Company Records
During WWI this transportation company produced aircraft for the US Military. For photographs of the planes during and after construction, see Series 5, Box 87:
Job #1230 - JND-4 (Jenny), First World War Planes;
World War I - Work - St. Louis Aircraft; and
Job #1230, JND-4 (Jennies)

Resources online

Soldiers' Records: War of 1812 - World War I
comprehensive database abstracted from the individual service cards and listing more than 576,000 Missourians who served in the military from territorial times through World War I
more...less...
Hosted by Missouri State Archives (Jefferson City)
ST. CHARLES COUNTY in the WORLD WAR 1917 * 1918 * 1919
Full text online
The World War : an editorial record of American participation / from the editorial columns of the St. Louis globe-democrat.
Reprinted editorials from key points in the war
more...less...
Print copy also available in Olin, level B (D570.1 .S2)
Popular Politics in U.S. Sheet Music from World War I

Books: Check out from library

Official program; War Relief Bazaar, held at the Coliseum, October 25-30, 1915. St. Louis, U. S. A
Call Number: D638 U5 S2 (Olin 3)
Final report of the Missouri Council of Defense, 1917 - 1918 - 1919
Call Number: D570.8 C8 M8 1919 (Oiln 3)

WWI Sources @ other St. Louis archives

Please contact each organization for more information about:

Library & Research Room, Missouri History Museum
Numerous sources indexed, including World War I: Biography and Service Records: Persons Who Enlisted in St. Louis City and County
more...less...
Located on Skinker, across from Forest park. (314) 746-4510 or email archives@mohistory.org
Russia in transition : the diplomatic papers of David R. Francis, U.S. Ambassador to Russia, 1916-1918
Available on microfilm at the Missouri History Museum
more...less...
Located on Skinker, across from Forest park. (314) 746-4510 or email archives@mohistory.org
Base Hospital 21 Collection, 1917-1967
Documents and Photographs from Base Hospital 21 was among the first American military hospitals to serve in France in World War I.
more...less...
Located at Becker Library Archives
Contact: arb@wusm.wustl.edu (314) 362-4236

Secondary Sources

Degrees of Allegiance: harassment and loyalty in Missouri's German-American community during World War I by Petra DeWitt
Call Number: F475.G3 D49 2012 (Olin 3)
ISBN: 9780821420034
The great silent majority : Missouri's resistance to World War I by Christopher C. Gibbs
Call Number: D570.85 M8 G53 1988 (Olin 3)
ISBN: 0826206832

More Resources

WashU History Resources
by Sonya Rooney Last Updated Oct 14, 2024 456 views this year
St. Louis Area Historic Maps
by Miranda Rectenwald Last Updated Oct 14, 2024 5082 views this year
A Guide to American History
by Michael Schaefer Last Updated Nov 10, 2024 5617 views this year
Global Health and Environment
by Ted Chaffin Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 173 views this year
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology
by Michael Schaefer Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 537 views this year
Archives: World War I
by Miranda Rectenwald Last Updated Oct 14, 2024 213 views this year