Contact Info
All Special Collections materials must be used on-site.*
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment*
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS:
314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections require advance notice for retrieval and use
European/World History Librarian
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
Resources: World War I from a European perspective.
- Edna Gellhorn Papers
This link opens in a new window
See Series 7, box 17 for the diary of Frank Martin, a family friend of the Gellhorn family. Martin was in Europe as WWI began, and wrote extensive notes about events he witnessed.
(Gellhorn was a St. Louis civic leader active in many programs, including the women's suffrage movement and a founding member of the National League of Women Voters.) - WU Memorial Association Records
- This link opens in a new window
Reports from faculty who served in the French Army prior to joining the WU faculty are included in this collection. The Washington University Memorial Association (WUMA) collected "War Record forms" to document how persons associated with the university were involved during World War I. - Dan Bartlett Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of various clothing articles, ephemeral materials, maps, photographs, and personal accouterments from an American World War I soldier. See Box 11 for souvenir photo books from Germany and England, collected by Bartlett while serving in Europe - Arthur Proetz Papers
- This link opens in a new window
See Series 3, Boxes 1 through 4 for materials related to Dr. Proetz's WWI service with Base Hospital 21 in France. - Russell Sturgis Photograph Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of photographs offers a detailed look at Europe, Russia, and North Africa in the pre-1914 era, focusing primarily on urban architectural details, topographical views. - Base Hospital 21 Collection, 1917-1967Documents and Photographs from Base Hospital 21 was among the first American military hospitals to serve in France in World War I.
Online Sources
- Medicine in Times of Need Online ExhibitBase Hospital 21 was among the first American military hospitals to serve in France in World War I. Its officer corps had been drawn in large part from the medical staff of Washington University Medical School and Barnes Hospital.
- Propaganda Poster CollectionBrowse or search several hundred digital posters and advertisements from various countries; collected by Washington State University (Pullman, WA)
- World War I Document ArchiveClearinghouse of primary source documents from pre-1914 to post-1918, maintained by Brigham Young University Library.
- The Great War and the Shaping of 20th CenturyOnline companion site to the BBC / PBS television series.
- The Great War: 80 Years OnIncludes archival radio interviews, newsreels, images and articles, from the BBC News Online.
- Empire Online
Over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library.
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Historical documents covering such important events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
From other local archives
Other collections about World War I. Please contact each organization for more information:
- Russia in transition : the diplomatic papers of David R. Francis, U.S. Ambassador to Russia, 1916-1918Available on microfilm at the Missouri History Museum (library building on Skinker)
More Resources
Further guides to library resources: