Look It Up!
Basic Sources
Starting Points
Comments (0)
Online Dictionaries
- English Dictionaries & Thesaurusesfrom Oxford Reference Online
- Merriam-Webster OnlineOnline version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition. Limited free access.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Browse the Historical Thesaurus of the OED
- Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary (1913 Edition) The ARTFL Project (University of Chicago)
- Wordnik "An ongoing project devoted to discovering all the words and everything about them."
- Wordsmyth: Educational Dictionary and Thesaurus
Search the Oxford English Dictionary
Thesauri
- Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English DictionaryOxford, 2009
- Merriam-Webster Thesaurus
- Roget's Thesaurus (1911)ARTFL Project, University of Chicago
More Resources
- The New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Edited by Elizabeth A. Martin, 2nd Edition, Oxford University Press, 2009
via Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style Bryan Garner, Oxford University Press, 2000
via Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar Sylvia Chalker & Edmund Weiner, Oxford University Press, 2003
via Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms By John Ayto, 3rd Edition, Oxford University Press, 2010
- Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang By John Ayto & John Simpson, Second Edition, Oxford University Press, 2008.
via Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Dictionary of RhymesOxford University Press, 2006
via Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English Oxford, 1999
via Oxford Reference Online - Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage Edited by Robert Allen, Oxford University Press, 2008
via Oxford Reference Online - Spinelli's Law Librarian's Reference Shelf - Legal Dictionaries
Reference Help Desk |
OED Word of the Day
Loading...




Loading...
