Look It Up!
Basic Sources
Starting Points
Reference
The Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English
A comprehensive reference on the
spelling, history, and usage of thousands of foreign words and phrases
used by English speakers for from more than forty
languages.
The Modern Language Association language map
Using data from the U.S. 2000 Census, this
site offers interactive mapping to show the density of speakers of
thirty-seven languages and language groups.
Ancient Scripts
A online compendium of world scripts from ancient times to the present
Online Dictionaries
- ARTFL Project: French-English-French Online Dictionary
- Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jakob und Wilhelm Grimm
Searchable version of the 32-volume DWB (1838-1960), the German equivalent of the OED. - dict.cc
Searchable online English-German and German-English dictionary. - LEO English-German Dictionary
Searchable English-German and German-English dictionary. Claims over 400,000 entries. - Oxford English Dictionary
Second edition, updated quarterly - Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Access to foreign lang. dictionaries, including French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish. Can search or browse through dictionaries. Entries include idiomatic expressions and usage examples. - Other online dictionaries and thesauri
From WU Libraries' website, links to other online dictionaries and thesauri.
Print Dictionaries
Use the links below to find dictionaries in the WU Catalog. You can limit by YEAR or by LOCATION.
- French--English dictionaries
- German--English dictionaries
- Spanish--English dictionaries
- Other languages
Fill in the language in the search box.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait