Print Catalogs for South Asia Material (NEW!)
Digital Libraries / Online NewspapersListening and Recordings
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

South Asian Studies Research Guide  Tags: urdu hindi india pakistan fonts manuscripts maps dictionaries  

Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/southasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home - Journals            Print Page
  
 

JSTOR Search Box


 

Images from South Asia

Mahabodhi

Monks outside the Mahābodhi Temple at Bodh Gaya, built in 5-6th century CE.

Read about the temple through the resources at OLIN LIBRARY, the Art & Architecture Library, or learn more from UNESCO.

 

 
 

Journal Index Databases / Major Online Resources

Press Display NEW at WashU!

Today's South Asian newspapers online -- 30 papers from India (English and vernacular); 2 papers from Nepal; 1 paper from Pakistan.
Read, print, and share.
Access for faculty, students and staff only.

South Asian Periodicals Index NEW!!

SAPI provides bibliographic citations for periodical literature published in and about South Asia. Open-Access.

Indiastat
A major database for statistics on all sectors of India. Access only available for WashU faculty and students. Retrieve password from the link.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Includes over 188,000 entries of research articles and books on South Asia. Access for Wash U students, faculty and staff only.

South Asia Research Documentation Services (SARDS) 3

SARDS 2 is an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc. The focus of SARDS 2 is on the humanities and social sciences. To date, over 67,000 citations are electronically searchable, covering the period from 1797 until 2006. All entries can be downloaded and easily printed. Open-access.

 

Indexes and Newspapers

Guide to the Indexing of South Asian Studies Periodicals

Hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the purpose of the database is to identify and list South Asian periodical titles and to determine to what extent a periodical has been indexed. Open-access.

International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes

Compiled by Irene Joshi formerly of the University of Washington Libaries South Asia Section. This union list contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide. Open-access.

International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)

Managed by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this database enables you to find existing holdings of newspapers from South Asia by searching under 'language'. These materials are often microfilmed and held at CRL. Open-access.

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageSamuel Wright
Contact Info:
Olin Library
(314) 935-4581
Send Email

Subjects:
South Asian Studies, Anthropology

 

Departmental Links

Anthropology

Asian and Near Eastern Languages and Literatures

Brown School of Social Work

History

Political Science

Religious Studies


 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait