A Guide for South Asian Studies Resources

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary sources covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages, from and about South Asia.

The 1947 Partition Archive is a people-powered non-profit organization dedicated to documenting, preserving and sharing eye witness accounts from all ethnic, religious and economic communities affected by the Partition of British India in 1947.

Contains many resources and databases for conducting research on South Asia such as Union Catalogs and British Library's Oriental and India Office collection.

The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) was founded in 2008 in order to document and provide access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans. Our collection reflects the vast range of experiences of the South Asian diaspora in the United States, including those who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe. (From website)

Retrieves and restores works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible.

Balochistan Archives is an executive agency of the Government of Balochistan which serves as the main repository for official records and documents of historical significance. Archivescontain evidence of financial and legal commitments, provide information about significant historical events, and help protect the civil and legal property rights of the citizens.

Promotes the study of rare and seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period. The project makes available rare colonial documents as searchable internet documents.

In connection with the Million Book Project, the DLI has placed thousands of books in many different languages online - some software downloads required to read the materials

The portal will be the single largest collection of Bapu's original works and so will be a delight for scholars researching his works. Apart from the collected works, images of newspapers and journals that Bapu edited will be incorporated in the portal. These include Indian Opinion, Navajivan, Young India, Harijan, Harijan Bandhu, and Harijan Sevak. The portal will also feature maps consisting of multiple layers that show sites Bapu visited during his lifetime.

A collection of electronic editions of books and articles on Indological and related subjects. The focus is on older standard works, along with writings relevant to the history of indology and related fields.

A repository of about 21000 manuscripts and 2.5 lakh printed books.The Library is currently converting its entire hand written collection to digital, online format.

An Urdu language 'Book House'. Contains fiction, poetry, and history books.

Lots of ads on the page but many digital books.

Online library contains texts dealing with the Vedas and Vedic rituals as well as medieval Shaivism. Texts in Sanskrit and Tamil.

Lahore University of Management Sciences research repository with archival collections featuring partition narratives and Lahore culture.

Archived websites related to NGO and grassroots activism related to gender and sexuality in South Asia

The Online Burma/Myanmar Library is a database which functions as an annotated, classified and hyperlinked index to full texts of individual Burma documents on the Internet. It also houses a growing collection of articles, conference papers, theses, books, reports, archives and directories on-site.

Digitizing the cultural heritage of the Panjab. Includes over 10,000 texts in various scripts and formats - books, newspapers, magazines, and manuscripts.

Contains links to reference, manuscript, and many other resources for research on Southeast Asia.

The Raffles Family Collection contains over 150 natural history and topographical drawings from Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as family correspondence and papers, and an important collection of diplomatic letters in Malay.

A site for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.A site for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.

Contains a broad array of resources for Himalayan and Tibetan Studies

From the British Library

An online library with over 500,000 pages of Urdu literature with complete text of notable writers - from classic to contemporary.

Digital reproductions of Sanskrit and Hindi texts. Documents are searchable and downloadable.

Containing over 4000 items, the collection documents the life and career of Sajjad Zaheer and highlights contemporaneous writers, politics and the Zaheer family from Lucknow, India.

A digital library of cultural artifacts in digital form. Contains texts and movies related to a large variety of topics.