A primary source is an immediate account or object resulting from the topic being studied. Traditionally, primary sources are found public records, archival collections, historic publications, and source books. Specific examples include speeches, diaries, letters, interviews, photographs, original literature, autobiographies. When researching contemporary topics, first hand accounts may also be found on blogs and social media, as well as contemporary literature. Contact a librarian for help identifying primary sources.
Selected archival databases include:
Governmental and organizational records, publications by and for lesbians and gays, personal correspondence and interviews. The Libraries subscribe to Parts I - VI.
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Archives include documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
World Guide to Libraries
Articles Describing Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States by 
British Archives: A guide to archive resources in the United Kingdom by 
Archives in Germany : an introductory guide to institutions and sources by 
American Author Houses, Museums, Memorials and Libraries by 
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies by 
A Guide to the OCLC Database and the Special Collections Therein by Guide to Hebrew Manuscript Collections / by Benjamin Richler.
Subject Collections: A Guide to Special Book Collections and Subject Emphases As Reported by University, College, Public, and Special Libraries and Museums in the United by Additional directories and sources in WU Catalog
Browse by [term] -- [country] -- Directories
Search topic as a subject with keywords: archives, catalogs, sources, or manuscripts.
