Research Guides: A Guide to LGBTQIA+ Research: Home

Best Bets

Welcome

This guide is an entry point for research on LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning, Intersex, Asexual, Aromantic, and adjacent experiences) people, stories, and concerns. This is a constantly expanding field that is often highly affected by contemporary politics. As a result, such a guide will never be comprehensive and the terminology will vary widely. Resources are provided here for the purposes of research and should not be used to invalidate anyone's lived experiences or expressions.

For example- these dictionaries and terminology guides may support general learning, however language use and understanding may not be consistent on an individual level.

The A-Z of Gender and Sexuality by Morgan Potts; Morgan Lev Edward Holleb
Call Number: HQ73 .P68 2019
There can be confusion around the appropriate terminology for trans and queer identities, even within the trans community itself. As language is constantly evolving, it can be especially difficult to know what to say. As a thorough A-Z glossary of trans and queer words from 'ace' to 'xe', this dictionary guide will help to dispel the anxiety around using the "wrong" words, while explaining the weight of using certain labels and providing individuals with a vocabulary for personal identification. Having correct and accurate terminology to describe oneself can be empowering, especially with words and phrases that describe gender identity, sexuality, sexual orientation, as well as slang relevant to LGBTQ+ rights and anti-discrimination, queer activism, gender-affirming healthcare and psychology. Written in a traditional A-Z glossary style, this guide will serve as a quick reference for looking up individual words, as well as an in-depth look at trans history and culture.
Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement by Ronald J. Hunt
Call Number: HQ76.5 .H86 1999
The Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement traces the evolution from the early homosexual rights movement through a century of history and into the contemporary gay and lesbian rights movement. It defines the key organizations and presents their leaders, the essential issues and the strategies those issues suggest, and the situation in numerous countries. Entries for numerous countries provide a global perspective. Most of the information is provided through extensive entries in the dictionary which are supplemented and put into context by the introduction and chronology. A comprehensive bibliography aids the researcher in further study. This volume focuses on the impact of gay and bisexual men (and their allies) on the gay liberation movement.
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by JoAnne Myers
The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of the movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.