Research Guides: A Guide to LGBTQIA+ Research: Journals &amp; Articles

Searching Databases

See various digital and digitized periodicals, including scholarly, trade, and academic publications in the catalog.

Sample search: ("Electronic journals") and (gay or lesbian or bisexual or transgender or queer)

The complexity of terminology and language are particularly present in databases that index materials spanning disciplines and time periods. See Search terms & strategies from University of Minnesota for queries to find transgender research in various databases.

LGBTQ+ Source
Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Gender Studies Database (1972- )
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes more than 921,000 records.
GenderWatch
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from 115 publications and archival material. Updated quarterly. Learn more about this database
JSTOR
Journals, books, images and primary sources.
PubMed (1946 - )
Over 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journals, plus extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Access provided by the Brown School Library.