A primary source is an immediate account or object resulting from the topic being studied. Traditionally, primary sources are found public records, archival collections, historic publications, and source books. Specific examples include speeches, diaries, letters, interviews, photographs, novels, and memoirs. When researching contemporary topics, first hand accounts may also be found on blogs and social media, as well as contemporary literature. Contact a librarian for help identifying primary sources.
To find primary source collections in the WashU Libraries Catalog, enter terms in Advanced Search and add a subject search for "sources."
Items with the Unlocked icon 
are free, open resources that are not maintained by WashU Libraries.
Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of 20th century and beyond from more than 35 countries. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.
Contains books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Includes selections from The National Archives in Kew, activist and publisher Tracy Baim, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, among others.
An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings related to transgender history throughout the world.
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
This is a select sampling of LGBTQ oral history projects. There are many more projects that are based in specific regions and universities.
Directory of over 250,000 primary source collections housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
