Subject Guide
Library Quick Links
Class Resources
Standards
- Documentation of engineering practices including rules, techniques, and conditions for engineering design, industrial practices, units of measurement, terminology, etc.
- Committees, affiliated with societies or organizations, and made up of specialists from universities and industry write standards.
- Give guidance and authority to engineering design.
- Can be mandatory or voluntary.
- Rules for uniformity, size, quality, performance, shape, definition, and testing methodology of manufactured products.
You MUST request individual standards for purchase. If you need a standard, email the standard number (e.g. ASTM-F3502-21) to Lauren Todd. You can also email her for help finding relevant standards.
- IHS Global Standards StoreSearch standards here and email librarian for purchase via libraries deposit account.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)https://www.fda.gov/
Codes
- set mandatory legal requirements.
- Clarifies what needs to be done
Patents
- "type of intellectual property that gives its owner the legal right to exclude others from making, using, or selling an invention for a limited period of time in exchange for publishing an enabling disclosure of the invention." Wikipedia
- Google PatentsSearch the web for patent info.
Relevant Databases
- AccessEngineering (Access Engineering) This link opens in a new windowFind codes and standards summaries
- Compendex (Engineering Village) (1970 - ) This link opens in a new windowUsed this database to find standard item records. This is NOT full-text, but you can easily search for standards and email the engineering librarian with the standard number to order.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowSearch and access the full-text of IEEE and IET journals, IEEE and IET conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Engineering Applications of Discrete Element Method by
This book introduces the engineering application of the discrete element method (DEM), especially the simulation analysis of the typical equipment (scraper conveyor, coal silos, subsoiler) in the coal and agricultural machinery. In this book, the DEM is applied to build rigid and loose coupling model, and the kinematic effect of the bulk materials, the mechanical effect of the interaction between the bulk materials, and the mechanical equipment in the operation process of the relevant equipment are studied. On this basis, the optimization design strategy of the relevant structure is proposed. This book effectively promotes the application of DEM in engineering, analyzes the operation state, failure mechanism, and operation effect of related equipment in operation, and provides theoretical basis for the optimal design of equipment. The book is intended for undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in mechanical engineering, researchers investigating coal and agricultural machinery, and engineers working on designing related equipments.
ISBN: 9789811579769Publication Date: 2020-09-11
The Engineering Design Primer by
Created to support senior-level courses/modules in product design, K. L. Richard's Engineering Design Primer reflects the author's deep experience in engineering product management and design. The combination of specific engineering design processes within the broader context of creative, team-based product design makes this book the ideal resource for project-based coursework. Starting with design concepts and tasks, the text then explores materials selection, optimisation, reliability, statistics, testing and economic factors - all supported with real-life examples. Student readers will gain a practical perspective of the work they'll be doing as their engineering careers begin. Features Presents the design, development and life-cycle management of engineered products Builds the skills and knowledge needed for students to succeed in their capstone design projects Brings design concepts alive with practical examples and descriptions Emphasises the team dynamics needed in engineering practice Examines probability, reliability, testing and life-cycle management of engineered products
ISBN: 9780429264917Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Practical Concepts for Capstone Design Engineering by
Practical Concepts for Capstone Design Engineering is the first and only comprehensive senior-level college textbook that provides the essential information needed to complete a successful capstone project in civil, construction,or environmental engineering. The concept for the book is based on replication of the steps commonly used by practicing engineers to complete design projects, from site selection, investigation, and site planning, through the preliminary design calculations and drawing preparation. Students will gain valuable insight and preparation for civil and construction engineering professional practice, and will learn how to smoothly transition from strictly academic work to solving real-world problems in the context of their capstone projects. The authors provide professional quality work examples, case studies, helpful hints, and assignments at the end of each chapter that further enhance comprehension. In addition to providing students with the key skills necessary to successfully enter the profession, they will also be well prepared for the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam upon graduation.
ISBN: 9781604271140Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Understanding the Discrete Element Method by
Gives readers a more thorough understanding of DEM and equips researchers for independent work and an ability to judge methods related to simulation of polygonal particles Introduces DEM from the fundamental concepts (theoretical mechanics and solidstate physics), with 2D and 3D simulation methods for polygonal particles Provides the fundamentals of coding discrete element method (DEM) requiring little advance knowledge of granular matter or numerical simulation Highlights the numerical tricks and pitfalls that are usually only realized after years of experience, with relevant simple experiments as applications Presents a logical approach starting withthe mechanical and physical bases,followed by a description of the techniques and finally their applications Written by a key author presenting ideas on how to model the dynamics of angular particles using polygons and polyhedral Accompanying website includes MATLAB-Programs providing the simulation code for two-dimensional polygons Recommended for researchers and graduate students who deal with particle models in areas such as fluid dynamics, multi-body engineering, finite-element methods, the geosciences, and multi-scale physics.
ISBN: 9781118567210Publication Date: 2014-05-19
- AccessEngineering (Access Engineering) This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more. Learn more about this database
- ASM International This link opens in a new windowASM International, the Materials Information Society, is the premiere resource for information and networking for materials engineers, scientists, researchers, teachers, and students. ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.
- CRCnetBASE This link opens in a new windowOver 5,000 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. NOTE that the Libraries subscribe to most but not all the full-text content found on this site. Topics covered include the biomedical sciences, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, engineering, environmental science, ergonomics and human factors, food science, forensics and criminal justice, healthcare, information technology, life science, material science, math, medicine, nutrition, pharmaceutical science and regulation, physics, and statistics.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowOver 2,800 major science and technical reference books and databases from major sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons and Elsevier.
- O'Reilly Online Learning : Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowAccess the new website for the O'Reilly/Safari Tech Books Online by using a valid Washington University email. Create a free user account to retain notes etc. in the e-books you have used. Washington University patrons can log in by clicking "Not listed? Click here." On the next login page, enter your WUSTL email. The collection contains over 30,000 full-text e-books and videos on computing, databases, networking, operating systems, programming, software engineering, .NET, Cisco products, Web design, Java, XML and more. It is fully searchable - even for snippets of code. Printing and PDF files are not available. For offline reading, use the mobile app. For more information about the mobile app: https://www.oreilly.com/online-learning/apps.html. Learn more about this database.
AI Chatbots and Library Research: Augmentative Technologies
How ChatGPT and Language Learning Models can help you in this class:
- Identify relevant engineering standard numbers based on design prompt inputs.
- Summarize standards and standard requirements.
- Brainstorm keywords, subject headings, and additional research areas.
- Identify possible "experts."
- Help outline your report.
- Remember to fact-check all information generated as it could be wrong, outdated, or fabricated.
Considerations when using LLMS as a research or writing tool:
- Start creative juices and overcome writer's block.
- Generate topics, keywords, and ideas.
- Help outline papers.
- Compare and contrast
- Refine research questions and thesis.
- Note effective prompts and strategies.
- Be very specific with your language inputs.
- Consider the target audience and task.
- Refine your questions and responses.
- Verify everything.
- Use for simple facts that you can fact-check via another source. Then cite that other source.
- Beware of misinformation.
- ChatGPT is notoriously bad at sources and often includes fake articles and citations.
- ChatGPT has limited knowledge of the world or events after 2021.
- If you copy/paste AI-generated text, you could be plagiarizing without even knowing it.
Citations
- Hargadon, Steve. "Library 2.0's ChatGPT Bootcamp for Libraries and Librarians." Library 2.0, 3/25/2023, https://www.library20.com/bootcamps/chatgpt.