Research Guides: Homer G. Phillips Hospital Oral History Collection: Oral Histories of Homer G. Phillips Hospital by Ezelle Sanford

Contact Info

Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.

HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment

LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus

REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu

*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use

Questions about a specific topic? Contact:

University Archives: Sonya Rooney

Rare Books: Cassie Brand

Manuscript: Joel Minor

Local History: Miranda Rectenwald

Modern Graphic History Library: Skye Lacerte

Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich

Oral Histories of Homer G. Phillips Hospital by Ezelle Sanford

About

Homer G. Phillips Hospital Oral History Collection (WUA00478)

This collection consists of three oral histories recorded by Dr. Ezelle Sanford, III as part of his dissertation research on St. Louis’s Homer G. Phillips Hospital—the nation’s largest segregated hospital which operated from 1937-1979. Ezelle earned his Ph.D. in History and History of Science from Princeton University in 2019. (source: http://www.ezellesanford.com/aboutme )

Conditions Governing Use

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University. If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or spec@wumail.wustl.edu.

Arrangement

The collection is ordered alphabetically by person interviewed.

Oral Histories

Each link below opens a folder with audio files and a typed transcript if available. Users are provided access to these recordings and transcripts for educational or personal use only. They may not be re-posted without permission (although sharing links is certainly encouraged).

Dr. Bertha Carter-Simmons
Date: March 26, 2017
Summary: In this interview Dr. Bertha Carter-Simons recollects her time training and working at Homer G. Phillips and City Hospital No. 1 as a registered nurse. Beginning shortly after her graduation from high school, Dr. Carter-Simmons entered the three year nursing program at Homer G. Phillips Hospital in 1966. She was a member of the first integrated class of nurse trainees at what became St. Louis Municipal School of Nursing.
more...less...
ID: LH2018-018-03
Dr. Mary Tillman
Date: April 18, 2017 and April 25, 2017
Summary: Dr. Mary Tillman, a St. Louis pediatrician who graduated from Howard University and Howard University School of Medicine remembers her time as a staff physician at Homer G. Phillips Hospital. In the second interview she continues discussing the “black flight” of physicians, the Mound City Medical Forum, and Washington University School of Medicine’s interaction with the hospital.
more...less...
ID: LH2018-018-01 and LH2018-018-02

About Finding Aid

Date Published: 2021 February 18

Finding Aid author: Miranda Recenwald