Full-Text Newspaper Articles on St. Louis World's Fair
Online Full Text Sources
Most titles are available through Google Books; some require a WUSTL key log-on.
Best Bets
- World's Fairs: a Global History of Expositions This link opens in a new windowExplore the phenomenon of world's fairs from London's Crystal Palace in 1851 to North American exhibitions and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork, artifacts and other primary sources, this resource provides access to digitized materials from multiple archives. Includes extensive documents about the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition / St. Louis World Fair. See Fair Directory for full list of 200+ events included, from 1821 - 2017.
- e-books "Book of the Fair Reel 149"
This link opens in a new window
contains 23 digitized texts published 1903-1906 related to the fair (requires WU log-in when off campus) - e-books "Book of the Fair Reel 152"
- This link opens in a new window
contains 26 digitized texts published 1903-1906 related to the fair (requires WU log-in when off campus)
Anthropology / Indigenous Peoples
- The Ainu group at the Saint Louis expositionBy Frederick Starr
Published photographs of the Fair
- Jackson's famous photographs of the Louisiana purchase exposition, 1803, St. Louis, 1904: over two hundred views and scenesBy C. S. Jackson, Charles Walter Brown
World's Fair Bulletin (Official newspaper of the fair)
- The St. Louis Exposition: August number 1904Part of the Official Fair journal
- THE WORLD'S WORKArticles written in 1903-1904
Overall / General About the Fair
- Out of a fleur-de-lis : the history, romance, and biography of the Louisiana Purchase Expositionby Claude H. Wetmore ; with a foreword by Hon. David R. Francis ; illustrated and containing a map of the exposition grounds and buildings.
- The universal exposition of 1904 (in 2 Volumes)By David Rowland Francis
- Final report of the Louisiana purchase exposition commission, 1906Govt. Print Office, 1906