The Hampton Collection consists primarily of material collected in connection with the various documentary films made by the late Henry Hampton, a 1961 graduate of Washington University, and his production company Blackside, Inc.
Black Film Promotional Material
The collection contains ca. 2,700 promotional items including photographic stills, programs, advertising materials, lobby cards, pressbooks, and posters, representing approximately 400 films, ranging in date from 1915 to 1980.
The Black Panther: A Comic Book History
The Black Panther comic book exhibit can teach us a great deal about the medium and its larger impact on society or vice versa. The character, Black Panther, was born out of the cultural and social revolutions of the 1960s, and what impact and meaning that has on our understanding of the series and subsequent characters is left to the visitors, patrons, and scholars. However, what better time to talk about comics and their influence in popular culture than at this very moment, when the superhero film genre is arguably at its apex?
The Power of Student Activism, By Miranda Rectenwald, May 01, 2016
Activism led by WashU students has been alive and growing over the most recent years. However, it is important to realize that student activism has been a very important (and often glossed over) history of Washington University.
Student Life (Campus Student Newspaper), PDF Archive 2001-Present2001 - 2023
https://www.studlife.com/pdf-archive?pdf-year=2001-2002&pdf-month=10
The Libraries' collection contains publications of Student Life, the university newspaper from 1878 through the present. The bound volumes of the newspaper are arranged in chronological order starting with the earliest publications. Following the bound volumes are envelopes and boxes containing unbound, individual copies of the paper. Also available are issues on microfilm (contact University Archives).
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Email Address: spec@wumail.wustl.edu Phone Number: (314) 935-5495
PopLit Collection _Olin Library Level 1
Popular Literature (PopLit) is a collection of books and audiobooks that has been assembled for your reading and listening pleasure. Genres in the PopLit collection include, mystery, horror, science fiction, fantasy, romance, graphic novels, non-fiction and more! A current core collection of print books is on Level 1 of Olin Library, the audiobooks (CDs) are on Level B, and the audiocassettes are at West Campus. Please see collection locations and floorplans for more information.
