subject librarian
Masha Sapp
Contact:
Campus Box 1061
Olin Library
Washington University
St. Louis, MO 63130-4899
(314) 935-4820
Olin Library
Washington University
St. Louis, MO 63130-4899
(314) 935-4820
Subjects: Russian Studies
Full-text databases
- Feb-WebThe Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore. A repository of Russian literary writing and scholarly texts. In English or Russian.
- Maxim Moshkov's LibraryA full-text online repository of literature in a wide variety of genres, along with cultural studies, political writings, children's literature, reference, and more. In Russian.
- Russian State Library digital libraryFull text of over 400,000 Russian dissertation theses, as well as collections of early printed books, music, and other resources.
General Reference Databases
-
19th century Russian literatureA link to sources for Professor Elizabeth Beaujour's Russian literature course at Hunter College, with material on Pushkin, Lermontov, Gogol, Turgenev, Dostoyevsky, Tolstoy, and others. Includes online full text of many novels and stories, in Russian and English.
-
American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies (ABSEES)From U of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Covers anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography in Russia & Eastern Europe. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications.
-
Art: Russian Studies Program (Bucknell University)A comprehensive list of museum and gallery websites featuring Russian art from the Middle Ages to modern times.
-
British Library Guide to Slavonic and East European Internet ResourcesAimed at scholars and researchers, this British site provides particularly broad access to resources on Eastern Europe.
-
Bulgakov's Master and MargaritaHosted by Middlebury College. Critical resources pertaining to the novel. In English.
-
MULTITRANAn online Russian/English-English/Russian dictionary that can recognize most transliterated Russian words. Those w/o Cyrillic installed on their computers can type in the English transliteration and then select the appropriate Russian word to search.
-
REES Web (University of Pittsburgh)An index of Russian and East European Studies Internet resources
-
Roy's Russian Language ResourcesProvides access to language resources, such as Cyrillic fonts, dictionaries and educational sites.
-
RusArtNetAn introduction to Russian arts and culture, including composers, painters, architects, writers, etc.
-
Russian History ResourcesFrom Bucknell University. Chronology, archival material, maps, exhibits, and websites from PBS and CNN.
-
Russian religious newsFrom the Stetson University Department of History. The site monitors news media reports about religion in Russia and other countries of former USSR.
-
SHERAWebsite of the Society of Historians of Eastern European, Eurasian and Russian Art and Architecture (SHERA). The 'resources' section provides access to the sites and online collections of many Slavic/Eurasian galleries and museums, featuring art from ancient times to the present day.
-
Slavic information resources (UIUC)Hosted by the Slavic Library at the University of Illinois. The guide provides information for scholars working in the Slavic field that will assist them with their research, both in this country and abroad.
Project for the Study of Dissidence and Samizdat
Electronic archive that includes a database of Soviet samizdat periodicals, electronic editions of selected samizdat journals, illustrated timelines of dissident movements, and interviews with activists. From the University of Toronto Libraries.
Primary Resources
-
Adventures in the Soviet imaginary: children's books and graphic artAn online exhibit drawn from the University of Chicago Library's collection of over 400 Soviet children's books published between 1927 and 1948. Vivid images with explanatory text by U of C graduate students and faculty.
-
Beyond the Pale : the History of Jews in RussiaOnline version of a traveling exhibit on the history of Jews in Russia.
-
Communal living in Russia: a virtual museum of Soviet everyday lifeThis web site--an online ethnographic museum--explores and explains a striking social phenomenon: the Soviet "kommunalka," or communal apartment. In English or Russian.
-
Dokumenty Sovetskoi epokhi (Documents of the Soviet era)Primary source documents from the Russian Federal Archives pertaining to the Soviet period. In Russian.
-
Early 19th century readership and cultureFrom the Slavic and East European Library at the University of Illinois. Site consists of: a) texts drawn from fiction, journals, memoirs & travel accounts; and b) supplementary materials—bibliographies of primary and secondary sources, a database of 11,898 subscriptions to Russian imprints (1825-1846), images, and various reference materials.
-
Eastern European and Slavic Studies CollectionThe Eastern European Collection brings together, in digital form, primary and secondary materials relating to the study of this region including its history, literature, language, political science and more. From the University of Wisconsin's Digital Collections.
-
European memories of the GULAGA research team of European anthropologists, geographers, historians and sociologists set out to find archival documents, survivors’ testimonies, objects and personal documents relating to the deportation to the Soviet Union of citizens of the Central and East European countries annexed, occupied or “liberated” by the Soviets during or after the Second World War. Sound archive, in Russian, French, and Polish.
-
GULAG: Many days, many livesPresents an in-depth look at life in the Gulag through exhibits featuring original documentaries and prisoner voices; an archive filled with documents and images; and teaching and bibliographic resources that encourage further study. A project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.
-
Russia and Eastern Europe in rare photographsOriginal images from the New York Public Library, spanning the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Subjects include Russian Orthodox churches, monasteries, and ecclesiastical art; views of cities, as well as small provincial towns; secular architecture; tsarist- and Soviet-era political exiles; and the diverse peoples of the Russian Empire.
-
Russian Archives OnlineRussian archival collections of photographs and films, audio, clips and transcripts from the 15 republics of the former Soviet Union, including Russia, Ukraine, Georgia and many more. Created by the Archive Media Project.
-
The Russian avant-garde book, 1910-1934An exhibit of 112 avant-garde books from the Museum of Modern Art.
-
Tango with cows: book art of the Russian avant-garde, 1910-1917This exhibition (Getty Museum, 2009) explores the way Russian avant-garde poets and artists responded to this crisis through their book art.
Alexander III and the policy of "Russification," 1883-1886
This collection from the U.K. National Archives, provides a unique analysis of this "retro-reform" policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe.
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities.
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918
This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
The Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20
This collection reproduces important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20. From the U.S. National Archives.
Country intelligence reports on the USSR
This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on the USSR. It includes reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.
Print Resources at Wash U (English Language)
-
A history of women in Russia : from earliest times to the present / Barbara Evans Clements.Traces the major developments in the history of women in Russia and their impact on the history of the nation.
-
Commerce in Russian urban culture, 1861-1914 / edited by William Craft Brumfield, Boris V. Anan'ich, and Yuri A. Petrov.Interrelation of Russian culture and commerce in the late 19th/early 20th centuries.
-
Entertaining tsarist Russia : tales, songs, plays, movies, jokes, ads, and images from Russian urban life, 1779-1917 / edited by James von Geldern and Louise McReynolds.Multifaceted look at Russian popular culture up to the revolution.
-
Epic revisionism : Russian history and literature as Stalinist propaganda / Kevin M.F. Platt and David Brandenberger, editors.The Russian canon as seen through the lens of Stalinism.
-
Erotic utopia : the decadent imagination in Russia's fin-de-siècle / Olga Matich.Explores Russian modernism through the writings of Tolstoy, Blok, Gippius, and others.
-
Handbook of Russian literature / edited by Victor TerrasRussian literature through the late 20th century.
-
How Russia shaped the modern world : from art to anti-Semitism, ballet to Bolshevism / Steven G. Marks.How Russian art, philosophy, and literature (particularly Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky) shaped modern perceptions of the world.
-
Intersections and transpositions : Russian music, literature, and society / edited and with an introduction by Andrew Baruch Wachtel.Studies the relationship between Russian literature and music.
-
Laboratory of dreams : the Russian avant-garde and cultural experiment / edited by John E. Bowlt and Olga MatichThe Russian avant-garde movement as it affected literature, the arts, and even science in the early 20th century.
-
Madness and the mad in Russian culture / edited by Angela Brintlinger and Ilya Vinitsky.Essays addressing a wide variety of ideas related to madness--from the involvement of state and social structures in questions of mental health, to the attitudes of major Russian authors and cultural figures towards insanity and how those attitudes both shape and are shaped by the history, culture, and politics of Russia.
-
Moscow & St. Petersburg 1900-1920 : art, life & culture of the Russian silver age / John E. Bowlt.Russian culture in the early 20th century, as seen through the lens of the country's two great capitals.
-
Natasha's dance : a cultural history of Russia / Orlando Figes.Examines how various writers, artists, and musicians grappled with the idea of Russia itself--its, character, spiritual essence, history, and destiny.
-
Noplace like home : the literary artist and Russia's search for cultural identity / Amy C. Singleton.Explores the idea of 'home' in Russian literature of the 19th and 20th centuries.
-
Reference guide to Russian literature / editor, Neil Cornwell ; associate editor, Nicole Christian.Trends and movements in Russian literature from medieval times to the post-Soviet period.
-
Romanov riches : Russian writers and artists under the tsars / Solomon Volkov ; translated from the Russian by Antonina W. Bouis.Fifteenth through 20th centuries.
-
Russia on the eve of modernity : popular religion and traditional culture under the last tsars / Leonid Heretz.A view of the dramatic changes unfolding in the late 19th/early 20th centuries through the eyes of the common people.
-
Russian literary culture in the camera age : the word as image / Stephen Hutchings.Russian literature and image/film during the 20th century.
-
Russian literature / Andrew Baruch Wachtel and Ilya Vinitsky.Confluence of Russian literature and culture, from medieval times through the present.
-
Russian literature : a very short introduction / Catriona Kelly.Explores the place and importance of literature in Russian culture, with a focus on Pushkin.
-
Russian literature : overview and bibliography / Gene V. Palmer (editor).Covers Russian literature through 2002.
-
Russian literature since the Revolution / Edward J. BrownSpans the period from 1917 to the early 1980s.
-
Russian subjects : empire, nation, and the culture of the Golden Age / edited by Monika Greenleaf and Stephen Moeller-Sally.Effects of nationalism and imperialism on Russian culture of the 19th century.
-
Serfdom, society, and the arts in imperial Russia : the pleasure and the power / Richard Stites.Examining the role of arts and artists in society's value system, Richard Stites explores this shift in a groundbreaking history of visual and performing arts in the last decades of serfdom.
-
Suicide as a cultural institution in Dostoevsky's Russia / Irina Paperno.Perspectives on suicide through Dostoyevsky's writings.
-
The Cambridge companion to modern Russian culture / edited by Nicholas Rzhevsky.Literature, history, and the arts.
-
The history of liberalism in Russia / Victor Leontovitsch ; translated by Parmen Leontovitsch with a foreword by Alexander Solzhenitsyn.Overview of the history of liberalism in Russia from the 18th century to the early 20th.
-
The magical chorus : a history of Russian culture from Tolstoy to Solzhenitsyn / Solomon Volkov ; translated from the Russian by Antonina W. Bouis.Examines interconnection between Russia's rulers and its artists: Tolstoy, Gorky, Solzhenitsyn, Pasternak, Akhmatova, and others.
-
The modern Russian theater : a literary and cultural history / Nicholas Rzhevsky.Twentieth-century Russian theater.
-
The Russia reader : history, culture, politics / edited by Adele Barker and Bruce Grant.A wide range of writers on Russia's cultural history.
-
The superstitious muse : thinking Russian literature mythopoetically / David M. Bethea.Myth and superstition in Russian literature, with emphasis on Pushkin, Nabokov, and Brodsky.
-
Women in Russian culture and society, 1700-1825 / edited by Wendy Rosslyn and Alessandra Tosi.Women in relation to Russian history, the arts, and religion.
Electronic Resources at Wash U (English Language)
-
Civil society in Putin's Russia [electronic resource] / Elena Chebankova.Click "WUSTL full text" and log in for access.
-
Early modern Russian writers, late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries [electronic resource] / Marcus C. Levitt, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Fashioning women under totalitarian regimes [electronic resource] : "new women" of Nazi Germany and Soviet Russia / by Victoria Vygodskaia-Rust.Full text of dissertation available online.
-
In a maelstrom [electronic resource] : the history of Russian-Jewish prose (1860-1940) / by Zsuzsa Hetényi.Full text of book can be viewed online.
-
Rethinking the post-Soviet experience [electronic resource] : markets, moral economies, and cultural contradictions of post-socialist Russia / Jeffrey Hass.Click "WUSTL full text" and log in for access.
-
Russian literature in the age of Pushkin and Gogol: poetry and drama [electronic resource] / Christine Rydel, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian literature in the age of Pushkin and Gogol: prose [electronic resource] / Christine Rydel, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian literature in the age of realism [electronic resource] / Alyssa W. Dinega, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian novelists in the age of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky [electronic resource] / J. Alexander Ogden and Judith E. Kalb, editors.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian poets of the Soviet era [electronic resource] / edited by Karen Rosneck.Bio-bibliographical guide covering the lives and works of Russian poets during the Soviet era. Click on "WUSTL full text" for access. Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian prose writers after World War II [electronic resource] / Christine Rydel, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian prose writers between the world wars [electronic resource] / Christine Rydel, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Russian writers since 1980 [electronic resource] / Mark Naumovich Lipovetsky and Marina Balina, editors.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Soviet communal living [electronic resource] : an oral history of the Kommunalka / Paola Messana.Click "WUSTL full text" and log on for access.
-
The archaeology of anxiety [electronic resource] : the Russian Silver Age and its legacy / Galina Rylkova.Full text of book available online.
-
The archaeology of anxiety [electronic resource] : the Russian Silver Age and its legacy / Galina Rylkova.Full text of book can be viewed online. Covers Russian literature of the Silver Age (early 20th century).
-
The Cambridge companion to modern Russian culture [electronic resource] / edited by Nicholas Rzhevsky.Full text of book can be viewed online as pdf.
-
The Cambridge companion to twentieth-century Russian literature [electronic resource] / edited by Evgeny Dobrenko and Marina Balina.Full text of book can be viewed online as pdf.
-
Twentieth-Century Russian emigre writers [electronic resource] / Maria Rubins, editor.Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Women in Nineteenth-Century Russia [electronic resource] : Lives and Culture / Rosslyn, Wendy.Click "WUSTL full text" and log in for access.