Book Reviews and Bibliography

"BHO is a database in English on the history of the printed book and libraries. It contains titles of books and articles on the history of the printed book worldwide. It is based on ABHB, the Annual Bibliography of the History of the printed Book and Libraries. This annual book publication (published under the auspices of the Committee on Rare Books and Manuscripts of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions) is produced in collaboration with editors in more than 30 countries....
BHO contains all ABHB entries from 1990 onwards."

"The Oxford Companion to the Book is a unique work of reference, covering the book, broadly conceived, throughout the world from ancient to modern times. It includes traditional subjects such as bibliography, palaeography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, textual criticism, book collecting, and libraries, but it also engages with newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book. It pays particular attention to how different societies shape books and how books shape societies."

"DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks allows scholars and students to investigate the publishing, printing, and marketing of English Renaissance drama in ways not possible using any other print or electronic resource. An easy-to-use and highly customizable search engine of every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660, DEEP provides a wealth of information about the original playbooks, their title-pages, paratextual matter, advertising features, bibliographic details, and theatrical backgrounds."

lists over 460,000 items
* published between 1473 and 1800
* mainly, but not exclusively, in English
* published mainly in the British Isles and North America
* from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries

the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide.

the Dutch retrospective bibliography for the period 1540-1800. This scholarly search instrument is freely accessible to everyone. The STCN-database will eventually contain bibliographical descriptions of all books published in the Netherlands between those dates, and of all books in Dutch published abroad. The STCN is being produced on the basis of library collections inside and outside the Netherlands,

an online bibliography of books printed in 17th-century Flanders

Online version of the standard bibliography of books printed in 16th–century Germany.

Online bibliographic index of 17th Century German imprints, currently under development.

"...a unique facility developed to address the particularly European issue that place name and personal names in Europe varied from country to country in the period of hand press printing (1450 - c. 1830). As such, it is an essential research tool for scholars and researchers of the period.
The CERL Thesaurus file contains forms of imprint places, imprint names, personal names and corporate names as found in material printed before the middle of the nineteenth century - including variant spellings, forms in Latin and other languages, and fictitious names. "

provides access to distributed databases containing manuscripts materials, printed works, photographic material and other special materials. The focus lies on manuscripts materials, but the Heritage of the Printed Book Database (HPB) and the English Short-Title Catalogue can be included in the search as well