Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Henry Hampton Collection Guide

This guide will help you to use the Henry Hampton Collection at the Film and Media Archive, Washington University in St. Louis

Introduction

Introduction

This collection contains materials created and gathered by Henry Hampton and his documentary production company Blackside, Inc. for numerous films produced from 1968 to 2002. Blackside is best known for the award winning Eyes on the Prize series that aired on PBS in the 1980s and 1990s.

Size: 58,000-plus items . There are 570 hours of original footage and 730 hours of stock footage on film and videotape. There are approximately 1000 linear feet of manuscript materials.

Provenance: In 2001, Washington University in St. Louis obtained the collection from the Civil Rights Project, Inc. (the non-profit counterpart to Blackside, Inc.), and subsequent materials were obtained from Blackside in 2002 and 2003.

Restrictions: Most of the material is open to users; however, in some limited cases, the archive does not have permission to make items accessible to patrons.

Photocopying, literary rights, and citation: The items in the collection were created by a wide range of individuals and companies. Thus, the Washington University Film and Media Archive does not hold the copyright for all of the holdings in the Henry Hampton Collection. Therefore, users may need to seek permission from the original source in order to reproduce items. The archive staff may be able to assist users in identifying the copyright holders.

Citations: Citations should be as follows: Washington University Libraries, Film and Media Archive, Henry Hampton Collection.

From the Archive: Linda Greene Presentation

As they prepared themselves for the task of creating Eyes on the Prize in the summer of 1985, Blackside producers and staff heard from historians and scholars as well as participants in the Civil Rights Movement. In this clip, Georgetown Law Professor Linda Greene discusses the ramifications of Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka.

Copyright Warning

The contents of the above video are protected under U.S. Copyright Law.  It has been assembled for research purposes only and may not be duplicated or broadcast or otherwise transmitted in whole or in part without written consent of the Washington University Film Archive or the appropriate copyright owner.