Mind your T's and R's
Many of the books related to film preservation have call numbers beginning with "TR"
What does it all mean?
The "T" represents "technology" and the "R" represents "photography"
AND
Any book that falls within the range TR845-899 is related to "cinematography/motion pictures". So if you feel like wandering the stacks you know where to start!
Click here for more on the Library of Congress Classifcation System.
Search the library catalog
Search the Washington University Libraries' catalog.
TIP: Search subject "Motion picture film--preservation" for all holdings related to film preservation
Request through interlibrary loan
- Keepers of the frame: the film archives byCall Number: PN1993.4 .H68 1994ISBN: 0851704719This book provides a history of film archives and examines their policies and technical approaches.
From grain to pixel : the archival life of film in transition by
Call Number: PN1993.4 .F725 2009ISBN: 9789089641397This books addresses the need for film archives to reevaluate various archival approaches as a result of the shift towards digital filmmaking and access.- The book of film care byCall Number: TR886.3 .B66 1983ISBN: 0879853212The title says it all. Published by KODAK, a respected resource for learning the basics of film handling and storage.
Watch preserved films
Treasures from American film archives : 50 preserved films by Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 T74ISBN: 061511556X
This series of DVD box sets, accompanied by supplementary guides, showcase the rescued films that document American cultural heritage. These moving image "treasures" were preserved with grant funds awarded by the National Film Preservation Foundation.
More treasures from American film archives, 1894-1931: 50 films by Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 M6552 2004ISBN: 0974709913
Treasures III: social issues in American film, 1900-1934 by Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 T73 2007ISBN: 9780974709949
Read all about it
Nitrate won't wait : a history of film preservation in the United States by Call Number: TR886.3 .S55 1992ISBN: 0899506941The quintessential book on the history of film preservation. It covers how the "film archive" came to be and the progression of film preservation into the 1990s. Don't miss the bibliographies!
Silent cinema : an introduction by Call Number: PN1995.75 .C48 2000ISBN: 0851707459This book provides a wonderful introduction to film preservation as it pertains to silent film. It also explains the differences between preservation, restoration, and reconstruction.
This film is dangerous : a celebration of nitrate film by Call Number: TR886.3 .T48 2002ISBN: 2960029607This easy to navigate compilation of essays covers everything nitrate, from theater fires to explosive dentures!
Restoration of motion picture film by Call Number: TR886.3 .R47 2000ISBN: 075062793XTechnical and practical, this book explains film lab processes. A necessary read for anyone interested in film preservation, but wait until you've done some initial research.
The death of cinema : history, cultural memory and the digital dark age by Call Number: PN1995 .C455 2001ISBN: 0851708382A thought provoking look into the current crisis that is facing the preservation of our cultural heritage.
Film curatorship : archives, museums, and the digital marketplace by Call Number: PN1993.4 .F465 2008ISBN: 9783901644245This book discusses the many current issues facing the field and includes "A Charter of Curatorial Values". It also includes a short, but in depth glossary.- Preserving the moving image byCall Number: TR886.3 S27One of the first books concerned with the care and preservation of moving images, including video tape.
- America's film legacy : the authoritative guide to the landmark movies in the National Film Registry byCall Number: PN1993.5.U6 .E15 2010ISBN: 9780826418494Peruse the 500 preserved films that have been selected for inclusion in the National Film Registry.