Research Guides: GIS Frequently Asked Questions: Additional Resources

Online Mapping Applications

Social Explorer
The libraries subscribe to Social Explorer, an online demographic mapping application. It includes census data from 1790 to the present, and maps and data reports are easy to create and customize.
GeoCommons
GeoCommons is a free site consisting of "Finder," where users can search or browse already created maps, and "Maker" where you can upload your own data and make a quick map.
ArcGIS Explorer Online (Beta)
ArcGIS Explorer Online is similar in appearance to the desktop version of ArcGIS Explorer, and has some of the same capabilities, but it’s a lighter weight version that works in a browser (IE only).

GIS Bibliography

ESRI has compiled a bibliography of GIS articles, books, and conference proceedings. Please note that this index is not comprehensive, but it does offer a great starting point when researching a GIS topic. Once you locate a book or article of interest, you can search the library catalog to see if it is available.

ESRI GIS Library

GIS @ Becker Medical Library

Geographic Information Systems

This guide from Becker Medical Library will be of special intersest to researchers in the medical and public health fields.

GIS Dictionaries

Dictionary of Abbreviations andacronyms in GIS, Cartograph, and Remote Sensing
Extensive list of abbreviations hosted by the UC Berkeley Libraries.
GIS Dictionary
This searchable dictionary from ESRI includes both generic and software specific terms.
A - Z GIS: An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems
Several copies are available in the libraries.