I will be adding available printed primary sources and the like available via Olin, on-line, and Interlibrary Loan. Students are welcome to make their own suggestions.
Printed Primary Sources by Region - In Books
*Note: The "Readers" included in this section contain both primary and secondary sources. Be mindful when perusing for your own source material. Come talk to me if you're not sure (as can be the case with something written, for example, by a famous intellectual in the 1930s).
VARIOUS
Boyer, Richard E., and Geoffrey Spurling. Colonial Lives : Documents on Latin American History, 1550-1850. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
F1410 .C725 2000 (in Olin)
BRAZIL
Conrad, Robert Edgar. Children of God's Fire : A Documentary History of Black Slavery in Brazil. University Park, Pa.: Pennsylvania State University Press, 1994.
HT1126 C455 1983 (in Olin)
Levine, Robert M., and John J. Crocitti. The Brazil Reader : History, Culture, Politics, The Latin America Readers. Durham: Duke University Press, 1999.
F2521 .B768 1999 (in Olin)
CARIBBEAN
Dubois, Laurent, and John D. Garrigus. Slave Revolution in the Caribbean, 1789-1804 : A Brief History with Documents. 1st ed, The Bedford Series in History and Culture. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
Chomsky, Aviva, Barry Carr, and Pamela María Smorkaloff. The Cuba Reader : History, Culture, Politics, Latin America Readers. Durham: Duke University Press, 2003.
NOT IN OLIN
Sahagún, Bernardino de. We People Here : Nahuatl Accounts of the Conquest of Mexico. Translated by James Lockhart, Repertorium Columbianum. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1993.
F1219.73 .W4 1993 (in Olin)
ANDES
Stavig, Ward, and Ella Schmidt. The Tupac Amaru and Catarista Rebellions : An Anthology of Sources. Indianapolis: Hackett Pub. Co., 2008.
On order by Olin
Starn, Orin, Carlos Iván Degregori, and Robin Kirk. The Peru Reader : History, Culture, Politics. Durham: Duke University Press,
1995.
F3431 .P478 1995 (in Olin)
VENEZUELA / ECUADOR / COLOMBIA / GRAN COLOMBIA / NUEVA GRANADA
Troconis de Veracoechea, Ermila. Documentos Para El Estudio De Los Esclavos Negros En Venezuela, Fuentes Para La Historia Colonial De Venezuela. Caracas: Academia Nacional de la Historia, 1969.
HT1151 T76 (in Olin)
The Ecuador Reader. NOT IN OLIN.
SOUTHERN CONE (ARGENTINA / URUGUAY / RIO DE LA PLATA / CHILE / PATAGONIA)
Nouzeilles, Gabriela, and Graciela R. Montaldo. The Argentina Reader : History, Culture, Politics, Latin America in Translation/En Traducción/Em Tradução. Durham: Duke University Press, 2002.
Darwin, Charles. Voyage of the Beagle. E-book and In print, in Olin.
In Olin catalog, a search for Patagonia will yield materials on Argentina and/or Chile
Check library collections for various TRAVEL JOURNALS, MISSIONARY REPORTS, and SCIENTIFIC INVESTIGATIONS, for example by Alexander von Humboldt, Jean de Léry, Fernão Cardim, Henry Koster, Lady Maria Graham, Edward Long, Thomas Falkner, Charles Darwin, Charles Hartt, Jakob von Tschudi. Many are available as e-books. I am investigating our access to SABIN AMERICANA, a terrific on-line database of primary sources.
For these texts enter [country/region description and travel] in library search engine to start.
Also look at Google Books
Printed Primary Sources - Online
Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project by the Center for Research Libraries
Includes reports from the nineteenth and early twentieth century by Provincial Presidents as well as various Ministries, and Rio de Janeiro's Alamanack Laemmert. An essential starting point for primary research in Brazilian history. Printed source. In Portuguese.
Projeto Resgate - A massive collaborative effort between Portugal's Ultramarine Historical Archive (AHU) and the Brazilian government to digitize their collection of documents relevant to the colonial era. Documents are organized by captaincy (prior to independence, when they became provinces, Brazilian regions were divided into captaincies). Requires paleographic training. In Portuguese.
Brazilian Criminal Code of 1860 - Google Books
Harvard University Latin America Digital Pamphlet Collection - Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. One of the few institutions to have consistently collected Latin American pamphlets, Harvard has benefited from collections formed by Luis Montt (Chile), Nicolás Acosta (Bolivia), Manuel Segundo Sánchez (Venezuela), José Augusto Escoto (Cuba), Blas Garay (Paraguay), Charles Sumner, John B. Stetson and others. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.
These pamphlets are valuable primary resources for students and researchers working on Latin American history. They document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State.
This collection of more than 5,000 titles was largely uncataloged and virtually inaccessible to researchers until a cataloging and digitization project was initiated in 2002. The Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection contains catalog records with links to page images of the digitized pamphlets. As additional pamphlets are cataloged and digitized they will be added to this Collection. For more complete bibliographic data, please see the HOLLIS catalog.
World Digital Library - A database of images including maps and photographs, made in partnership between the Library of Congress and UNESCO. Has good sources on Latin America.