Skip to Main Content

Manuscript Collections

Washington University's collections of manuscripts contain a broad range of materials dating from the 2nd century BC through the present. The largest group of materials is the Modern Literature Collection.

Introduction

Washington University Libraries’ Julian Edison Department of Special Collections Manuscript collections contain a broad range of materials dating from the 2nd century BC through the present. The Modern Literature Collection is the largest material group, which focuses on Anglo and American literary manuscripts in the 20th and 21st centuries. Other significant holdings include Coptic Greek papyri fragments, European manuscript books and leaves, St. Louis literary events recorded on audiotapes, and American/European autograph collections of significant writers, scientists, politicians, and more. 

 

Research at Special Collections

Searching and Browsing Manuscripts

The Manuscript Collections (MS) are collections of personal papers related to an individual or family, or archival records related to an entity. Manuscript collections often include unpublished materials such as typescripts, photographs, diaries and scrapbooks. They may also include news clippings, printed works and other published materials collected by the creator.

The Vertical Manuscript Files (VMF) are individual items or small groups of items with historical significance related to an individual or entity.

Contact Info

contact special collections

All Special Collections materials must be used on-site.* 

HOURS:  Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment*

REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS:  314-935-5495  spec@wumail.wustl.edu

*collections require advance notice for retrieval and use