Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

St. Louis Legal Encoding Project Resources

Information and additional resources for the St. Louis Legal Encoding Project, an IMLS grant funded project contributed to by Digital Library Services, WU Law Library, and Missouri History Museum.

Image

Resources & Databases

Birth & Death Records Database, pre-1910
The Missouri Birth and Death Records Database is an abstract of the birth, stillbirth, and death records recorded before 1909 and that are available on microfilm at the Missouri State Archives.

County and Municipal Records on Microfilm
A roll-by-roll listing of over 55,000 reels of microfilm containing county and municipal records. These records include deeds, marriages, circuit court and probate court materials.

Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Resources

Mercantile Library at UM-St. Louis

Missouri Death Certificates, 1910 – 1961
Death certificates contain valuable information for family historians and researchers. The Missouri Death Certificate Database, containing death records created after 1910 and over 50 years old, makes that information available online through a searchable index that links to a digitized image of the original death certificate.

Missouri Judicial Records
Death certificates contain valuable information for family historians and researchers. The Missouri Death Certificate Database, containing death records created after 1910 and over 50 years old, makes that information available online through a searchable index that links to a digitized image of the original death certificate.

Missouri Supreme Court Historical Database
The Missouri Supreme Court database provides an index and abstract of the criminal and civil court cases that were appealed to the territorial and state Supreme Court of Missouri up to 1861, and a partial listing of cases to 1871.

St. Louis Probate Court Digitization Project 1802-1900

St. Louis Public Library St. Louis Resources

St. Louis University Pius XII Library

Western Historical Manuscripts Collection at UM-St. Louis

Subject Guide