Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

St. Louis Area Historic Maps

A guide to locating historic maps of the St. Louis (Missouri) regional area.

Contact Info

Gargoyle on campus of owl reading book

Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.

*HOURS:  Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment

*LOCATION:  Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus

*REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS:  314-935-5495  spec@wumail.wustl.edu

*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use

Questions about a specific topic? Contact:

University Archives: Sonya Rooney

Rare Books: Cassie Brand

Manuscript: Joel Minor 

Local History: Miranda Rectenwald

Modern Graphic History Library: Skye Lacerte

Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich

For St. Louis history sources available online see https://libguides.wustl.edu/STL-online

St. Louis Area Maps (Online)

Digitized maps available freely online from various archives and libraries:

Digitized urban planning documents and maps of St. Louis, from various organizations (in date order). Note: of the many planning documents in existence, these represent only ones available in full-text online

St. Louis neighborhood maps and information:

Census Data Sets:

Interactive St. Louis Maps (online)

Maps at WashU Special Collections

In WU Special Collections, the Harland Bartholomew and Associates Collection is a wonderful source for detailed maps of St. Louis in the 20th century.  This large collection also includes many other metropolitan areas. 

HBA Series 02, black Vol 53, part 1

Image above from HBA Series 2, black Vol 53, part 1

Items in the Harland Bartholomew and Associates Collection include:

In addition to Special Collections, various types of historic maps are located in Washington University Libraries.  See especially subject headings:

Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Maps

Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Maps -- 19th century.

Other sources for St. Louis Maps

Missouri Maps

Books about St. Louis Maps

More Research Guides about Maps

Looking for maps of other cities, states, or places? Try these resources: