Librarian
Room #208
January Hall
Washington University in St. Louis
Links to indexes and bibliographies
To make the best out of these databases, see the Search Tips page of this guide.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - ) This link opens in a new windowReferences to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFrom the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
See Find Articles page on the Guide to Japanese Studies for more databases.
Instructions for using/navigating the Japanese index databases can be found in the box below.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu This link opens in a new windowComplete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to major and local periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, from 1868 to present.
- CiNii ArticlesAcademic journals and bulletins. Use title, author, journal name or keywords to search Japanese academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
- NDL periodical index search (国立国会図書館雑誌記事索引検索)Search the index of magazine/journal articles held at National Diet Library. This function is available through the NDL Search. Go to the "Advanced Search" tab and check ONLY the "NDL Periodical Index" box for the database. Search interface is also available in Japanese, Chinese (simplified) and Korean. (When using Japanese interface, go to the ”詳細検索" tab and tick "NDL雑誌記事索引").
- Database of Research Thesis in Japanese Literature (国文学論文目録データベース)A database of academic journal articles (including kiyo articles) and book chapters on Japanese literature, Japanese language and language pedagogy held at the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku Kenkyu Shiryokan).
How to use Japanese indexes
* When using bibliographies and article/citation indexes, always prepare to write down the citation information of the articles you find. You will likely need to search library catalogs or other databases for full-text access.
Because Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei, CiNii Articles and the NDL Periodical Index is now cross-indexed, those three databases return mostly the same search results for your search terms. But you may prefer the user interface and narrowing down functions of one database over the others. Try them all and see which one works for you best.
Use basic search,
or advanced search.
Your search result on this database includes a timeline. You can click on the timeline to select a year, and narrow down your search results to that particular year.
* When using bibliographies and article/citation indexes, always prepare to write down the citation information of the articles you find. You will likely need to search library catalogs or other databases for full-text access.
Because Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei, CiNii Articles and the NDL Periodical Index is now cross-indexed, those three databases return mostly the same search results for your search terms. But you may prefer the user interface and narrowing down functions of one database over the others. Try them all and see which one works for you best.
CiNii Articles detects your browser settings or your location and sets the default interface language to English or Japanese accordingly. You can switch between languages using the link on the top right-hand corner.
The advanced search screen will look like this:
Your search results will look like this:
* When using bibliographies and article/citation indexes, always prepare to write down the citation information of the articles you find. You will likely need to search library catalogs or other databases for full-text access.
Because Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei, CiNii Articles and the NDL Periodical Index is now cross-indexed, those three databases return mostly the same search results for your search terms. But you may prefer the user interface and narrowing down functions of one database over the others. Try them all and see which one works for you best.
* When using bibliographies and article/citation indexes, always prepare to write down the citation information of the articles you find. You will likely need to search library catalogs or other databases for full-text access.
Your search results look like this. Click on the title to get full citation of each work (Journal name, year, volume, issue, etc.).
