Contact Info
Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
About
American Culture Studies Program Oral History Collection (WUA00342)
In the spring of 2003, the American Culture Studies (AMCS) Program received a grant from the University's Sesquicentennial Committee to create the "American Lives Project" which included interviews, archival documents, and articles. The oral histories presented here were documented as part of this effort. The original American Lives site was a custom built database, which was online 2003 - 2015. During 2015 - 2016 staff of AMCS and the Special Collections department worked up migrate these files to a stable and accessible format compatible with current internet technology.
Conditions Governing Use
Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University. If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or spec@wumail.wustl.edu.
Arrangement
The collection is ordered alphabetically by person interviewed.
Oral Histories
Each link below opens a folder with audio files (usually in several clips) and a typed transcript if available. Users are provided access to these recordings and transcripts for educational or personal use only. They may not be reposted without permission (although sharing links is certainly encouraged). For further questions about copyright, usage, or to access recordings not available online, please contact spec@wumail.wustl.edu
- Abdullah, Muhammad NurAn oral history of Muhammad Nur Abdullah. Abdullah discusses his roles an Imam at the Islamic Foundation of Greater St. Louis. He describes his involvement with interfaith organizations as well as the special concerns of Muslims in the post-September 11 [2001] United States.
- Baker, Elaine DeLottElaine DeLott Baker discusses her civil rights activism, with particular emphasis on Freedom Summer 1964, southern farm practices, as well as the Meridian, Mississippi murders of Schwerner, Goodman, and Chaney. She also considers the effect of segregation within the Civil Rights Movement on current attitudes towards race amongst black and white civil rights workers today.
- Berger, HenryUndergraduate at Ohio State, early activism; Social activism, civil rights, generational and cultural difference; Civil rights movement, prejudice, work in Mississippi; University of Wisconsin and University of Vermont; activism on campuses; Arriving at Washington University, ROTC fire, student protest, (tape end); Chancellor Eliot, his role of support in student protests, Howard Mechanic fleeing, Carter Revard's role; Police Brutality with Protestors, St. Louis Community Reaction, Newspaper Coverage; End of Vietnam War; decline in student protests, women's movement,
- Bussman, SusanExperiences with Washington University, impact of Vietnam and Cold War on youth; early experiences with marriage to drafted soldier; Personal feelings about Vietnam, sympathies for student activists; impact of war on marriage; Husband's experience with ROTC burning; Kent State and Washington U. campus activism of 1970
Date: 2001-04-19 - Claiborne, ClayClay Claiborne was an African American student at Washington University beginning in 1966. He was arrested for his protest activities. Involvement in campus politics: Student Rights Party, Dev Kennedy elected (largest turnout of students ever-50%), WEB Du Bois Club, Students for a Democratic Society; 1966-1970 tremendous social upheaval (anti-war, black liberation, women's liberation, earth day)
Date: 2001-04-20 - Davis, SusanSusan Davis was a student at Washington University during the period of campus unrest in 1970. She served on the staff of `Student Life` and was active in student protests. Davis spent time abroad and in California during the early 1970s. This oral history was gathered during the WULF Reunion in Spring 2001.
Date: 2001-04-21 - Edwards, JoeJoe Edwards, founder of Blueberry Hill, speaks about the changing business climate and population demographics of the Delmar Loop over the past thirty years. He elaborates on his involvement with Blueberry Hill, the Pagent, and the Tivioli Theater, as well as his revitalization efforts of the past and for the future.
- Edwards, MarkBiographical detail, basketball involvement and early experiences at Washington University; Changes on campus during undergraduate years and relationship between fraternities and activism; Experience on basketball team and race at University; Brookings Hall takeover by ABC and ROTC fire, and significance for student body; interactions with and perception of activists on campus; Impact of activism during undergraduate years and implications today
- Eliot, Thomas H.Thomas H. Eliot, Chancellor of Washington University in the 1960s, considers the major events and decisions of his administration. These include his interactions with faculty, the Board of Trustees, and student activists. He touches on the University's budgetary and fundraising concerns, Wash U's rise in national prominence, reforms he instituted at the administrative level, and the Vietnam era.
- Evans, Pearlie Ingram (interview on two days)Pearlie Ingram Evans, former district assistant to St. Louis, Missouri, Congressman William Lacy Clay, Sr., recounts her family history, social work, political career, and social activism. She considers her experience as a St. Louis city commissioner, her role in Committee on Racial Equality (CORE) protests, her work in settlement houses, and her career as a congressional assistant. Interview dates 11/30/2004 and 4/22/2005)
In a continuation of her previous interview, Evans concentrates on her service in St. Louis politics. She recounts her work on the aldermanic and congressional campaigns of Congressman William Lacy Clay, Sr., describes her role as a congressional district assistant, speaks broadly on the political history of St. Louis, and considers aspects of race and sex in politics. - Faust, FredFred Faust was a student and an activist at Wash U from 1966 to 1970. He was also editor of Student Life, the WU campus newspaper.
Date: 2001-04-22 - Fields, WayneTopics: Administration policies; Burton Wheeler's role, Chancellor Eliot's position; early teaching at Washington University, campus environment during the 1968-70; junior faculty participation; Differences in student demographics between day and evening school; teaching during the protests; St. Louis community reaction to students; personal incidents; Enlisting vs. being drafted; being deferred; 1961 experience in National Council of Churches; going abroad ; Civil Rights on Campus and national movement; Dean John Ervin; how period impacted his teaching and ideas of American Culture Studies;
Date: 2001-04-24 - Garegnani, JennieJennie Garegnani, an elder resident of the Hill neighborhood in South Saint Louis, discusses the familial and communal activity and the history of the Hill.
- Glover, Clyantha S.Topics: St. Louis, living in Boston and New York City, return to St. Louis, nursing profession past versus present ; Pros and cons of segregation, scholarships and financial aid in the past and present; Joining Central, its choirs, rebuilding Central after the fire, her feeling of acceptance at Central ; New cultural practices (Kilalo, Kwanzaa) in the Church, the generational differences in terminology for African-Americans; Integration of churches, the role of music in religious worship, the misunderstandings between generations; Past forms of worship, the role of the Church in life and society, view on acceptance of homosexuals; Advice to youth, the importance of education, her trip to Israel
- Goldstein, NeilA Washington University student in the 1960s. Topics: campus involvement; experiences as a 'conscientious objector'; Formation of personal pacifist ideology; campus activism and the surrounding community; divisions within the movement and decline of activist movement; role models; ROTC fire; meetings with congressmen; influence of activism on post-collegiate life and regrets
Date: 2001-04-20 - Green, Percy (interview 1)Interview by Christine Lamberson, focusing on his memories and activites as a Civil Rights activist in St. Louis and through the Civil Rights organization, ACTION
- Green, Percy (interview 2)St. Louis civil rights activist Percy Green focuses on his memories and activities as a member of St. Louis CORE (Committee on Racial Equality) and ACTION (Action Council to Improve Opportunities for Negroes).
- Himes, RonaldRonald Himes, professor at Washington University and Founder and Producing Director of the Saint Louis Black Repertory Company, discusses his experiences of being an African American in St. Louis and at Washington University. The founding and development of the Black Reparatory Theater is also discussed.
- Irwin, MarkMark Irwin was a student at Washington University from 1970-1974 and a co-founder of Young Americans for Freedom (YAF). Interview date: 2003-08-21
- Kennedy, DevereauxFormer university student body president and WULF participant; Attending Washington University and interest in radical politics; Santa Barbara Conference of 1967; quoted on terrorism going public, family and Washington University reaction; Relationship with Chancellor during student years, Chancellor's Eliot's role as University spokesperson, Chancellor's beliefs about war and university; Impact of Kent State on students and protests; police role in protests; Mechanic and the protests; getting arrested; Grateful Dead bail fund concert; running and moving underground; Impact of Kent State, burning of the ROTC building; Trying to establish W.E.B. Dubois Club at Washington University, right to free speech and student organizations, SDS; WU chapter organization; national organization; March on Washington, climbing the Pentagon, Bill Ayers and the Weathermen; Reading the Beats, Jack Kerouac, counter-culture, activism as a subculture; Drug use; study habits;
- Koch, PhillipPhillip Koch was at Washington University from 1967 to 1971. He was involved in the student activism movement and edited `The New Hard Times`, an alternative newspaper. Koch gives an account of experiences at the 1968 Democratic convention and of the March 27, 1970 march at Washington University. This oral history was gathered during the WULF Reunion in Spring 2001.
Interview date: 2001-04-21 - Kohl, Daniel HDaniel (Danny) Kohl received his PH.D. from Washington University in 1965 and has been a member of the faculty since that time. He was involved in opposition to the Vietnam War and contributed to the work `The Politics of Escalation in Vietnam`.
Date: 2001-04-24 - Kowalski, RoseRose Kowalski, a student at Washington University in Saint Louis, discusses her political philosophy, as well as her political and activist involvement around September 11, 2001 and the Iraq war.
- McGuire, JohnPost-Dispatch reporter John McGuire was born in Kalamazoo, Michigan on May 16, 1938. After graduating from high school, McGuire attended the Art Institute of Chicago, but transferred to Michigan State University. He completed his undergraduate studies 1961 and was drafted into the army while in graduate school. After discharge, McGuire came to work at the St. Louis Post-Dispatch in the mid-60s.
Date:2003-07-12 - Mechanic, HowardHoward Mechanic was a student at Washington University from 1966-1970. In 1970 he was arrested and convicted for allegedly throwing a cherry bomb at the ROTC fire. He fled after his conviction.
- Metcalf, BobTopics: political atmosphere of University City past and present; Perception of Washington University and student activism in the late 1960s; account of Air Force ROTC fire; Howard Mechanic and the ROTC fire, and his subsequent years living under an assumed name ; general thoughts on protests at Washington University during the Vietnam Era and closing remarks; Interview date: 2003-07-16
- Michaels, SheilaSheila Michaels, a former field secretary with CORE, discusses her involvment with voter registration drives, demonstrations, and sit-ins. She gives particular attention to the dynamics of race, gender, and religion within the Civil Rights Movement.
- Milam, Julian D.Julian Milam describes his experiences in the Ladue School District, and as a student at Washington University 2000-2004 (Psychology). He discusses the desegregation student transfer program between Saint Louis City and Saint Louis County public schools, his role as a tutor for Saint Louis City students, as well as his general experiences as an African American student.
- Muhammad, Jamaal HasanJamaal Hasan Muhammad, who is involved in various Islamic outreach programs with the Islamic Foundation of Greater Saint Louis and with Washington University in Saint Louis, discusses his experiences with the Nation of Islam, the challenges of Islamic education, anti-Islamic teachings, the Muslim world post-September 11, and general Islamic issues.
- Nash, HelenDr. Helen Nash, African American pediatrician at Homer G. Philips and Children's Hospitals in St. Louis, Missouri, discusses her experiences in medicine, specifically instances of racism, prejudice, and segregation that she encountered throughout her career.
- Oldham, CharlesFather's service in World War I; elementary school; Marceline, Missouri; Central College in Fayette, Missouri; University of Missouri-Columbia; World War II draft; military training; race in the military; American Veterans Committee; Washington University Law School; admissions of African Americans; SCAN (Student Committee for the Admission of Negroes); Sit-ins; Forum Cafeteria; Scruggs, Vandervoort, and Barney; Stix, Baer, and Fuller; educational influences, CORE philosophy;Composition of St. Louis CORE; Colored Clerks' Circle; NAACP; first meetings of St. Louis CORE; Freedom ride cases in Jackson, Mississippi; formation of National CORE; St. Louis CORE support of William Clay and Harold Elbert; Jefferson Bank protests; Union litigation; representation of Leather Goods, Plastics, and Novelty Workers' Union and Teacher's Union; Marian Oldham's activism; Little Rock Nine; Legal representative for conscientious objectors;
- Revard, CarterProfessor of English and American Literature, Washington University in the 1960s and 1970s, Carter worked with many of the student activists on various projects, such as EEDIN press and he also put his house up for bail for Howard Mechanic.
Date: 2001-04-16 - Silber, DanielleDanielle Silber, a student at Washington University in St. Louis 2001-2005 (Afro & Afro-American Studies and International Area Studies), discusses her reactions to and interpretations of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. Specifically, she discusses the media coverage and the student reactions to the terrorist attacks.
- Smith, RobinFormer Blueberry Hill bartender Robin Smith on the history and personal experiences concerning the Delmar Loop in University City, Missouri. The oral history concentrates on his tenure at Blueberry Hill, as well as the changes in the social climate of the Delmar Loop during the last twenty-five years.
- Smith, WalterWalter Smith, director of the Boys and Girls Club in Decatur, Illinois, discusses his experiences growing up in the Longview housing project and describes his current work [circa 2003] with Decatur youth. He reflects on the racial, economic, and social issues facing urban families and the city of Decatur.
- Spence, "Jug" Lyn TJug Spence was a photographer for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch newspaper who photographed both the ROTC Fire and the St. Louis Hard Hat Parade. He was injured at both events.
Date: 2003-07-29 - Stix, Judith SaulJudith Saul Stix, a member of both the Student Committee for the Admission of Negroes (SCAN) and St. Louis Committee of Racial Equality, describes her experiences during the civil rights movement. She discusses her childhood, philosophical influences, activism, and she shares her thoughts on current civil rights and political issues.
- Stowers, JuliusJulius Stowers, a former resident of the Pruitt-Igoe Housing Project in St. Louis, Missouri, recalls his childhood experiences while living in the project. He discusses aspects of everyday life, building design, economic demographics, and crime and safety.
- Thomas, James David (two interviews)December 1, 2003: James David Thomas, editor of the Gay News Telegraph, discusses his experiences with sexual identity from his childhood through his years at Oberlin College. These include descriptions of his family life and his leadership of the Oberlin Gay Union. Also, he recounts his leadership in the creation of Pride Fest, the Saint Louis gay pride festival.
December 10, 2003: James Thomas, editor of the Gay News Telegraph, continues his discussion of sexual identity. He reflects on the Saint Louis community reaction to Pride Fest, discusses the evolving structure of the gay and lesbian community in Saint Louis, and recounts his experiences as editor of the Gay News Telegraph. - Uchitelle, SusanSusan Uchitelle, the former executive director of the St. Louis Voluntary Inter-district Coordinating Council (VICC), talks about the legal creation of the VICC, her role in the VICC, and the issues with which the VICC confronted in the desegregation of St. Louis Public Schools.
- Veninga, LouiseWebster University culture; catholic anti-war movement; protests by students both at Webster and with Washington University students; protests after Kent State, ROTC building burning; Graduate student at WU; the draft and lottery system; anti-war movement and women's movement; sexuality and culture; Masters & Johnson; Civil Rights movement; blacks at Washington University and in St. Louis (end of tape); Graduate projects in the St. Louis community; African-American community in St. Louis, Washington DC anti-war protests; Cambodia; the media and the Vietnam War, Vietnam Vets; general closing comments. Interview date: 2001-04-18
- Waller, WaverlyWaverly Waller, a citizen of Decatur, Illinois, discusses his childhood experiences while growing up in the Longview Housing Project, as well as the history of the housing development. He considers issues of segregation, crime, safety and protection, and the portrayal of these issues in the media as they relate to both the Longview Housing Project and to greater Decatur.
- Wamser, JerryJerry Wamser was a student at Washington University from 1964 to 1968 and was enrolled in ROTC. He was an officer in the Vietnam War. Interview date: 2003-09-11
- West, JanetJanet West, a former resident of the Pruitt-Igoe Housing Project in St. Louis, Missouri, recalls her childhood experiences while living in the project. She discusses aspects of everyday life, building design, economic demographics, and crime and safety.
- Wheeler, BurtonTopics include: Biographical information and early years at Washington University (started at WU in 1956, Dean of Arts & Sciences for 10 years); Historical context of student activism, early U.S. involvement in Vietnam, "domino theory," religious characteristics of Vietnam; Description of Washington University faculty political beliefs, opinions of Johnson's Vietnam policy, lessons of Korean War; Celebration on May 19th, birthday of Malcolm X & Ho Chi Menh; Brookings Hall occupation by Association of Black Collegians, protests against University paternalism; drug use, social changes at Berkeley & Columbia spread to Midwest; reinstatement of the draft; Molotov cocktail incident at W.U. ROTC; atmosphere of political rallies on campus and public reaction; ROTC as symbol; University objectives on education and policy on ROTC; early activism of black students and reaction of administration, idea of "free campus";role of faculty on campus and with student activism;
- Wilson, Margaret Bush (two interviews)Margaret Bush Wilson was one of St. Louis' first female African American attorneys and civil rights activists, former President of the Missouri NAACP, former Chairman of the national NAACP. Two interviews conducted, 8/25/2003 and 10/15/2003.
The second interview covers her leadership of the NAACP's local chapter, the organization of and interaction between local civil rights organizations and the segregated institutions of the St. Louis area, local and national strategies of the civil rights movement, her specific roles in various campaigns. - Zaricor, Ben (Benjamin Zaricor)Civil Rights training and non-violent tactics; Sit-In at South Brookings Hall; Liberal vs. Conservative; other social movements; counterculture, junior faculty at role models; End of the war; the lottery; restraining orders against students; Howard Mechanic; life and career after leaving the University (Interview date: 2001-04-21)
- Zeffert, Robertstudent at Washington University 1968 - 1970; discusses protests and campus life
About the finding aid
Finding aid published: 2016; updated 2020 December
Finding aid author: Miranda Rectenwald