The largest online collection of 18th and 19th century newspapers published in this region. Provides a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
The definitive resource for researching 17th and 18th century America. The digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Includes Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society.
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, have been digitized. The Libraries have subscribed to Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; and Series 3, 1829-1922, Series 10, 1730-1900, Series 12, 1821-1900, and Series 13, 1803-1916.
Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1470 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection. Learn more about this database.
Over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text. More information about HathiTrust.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the theory, method, and the history of American literature
Rotunda was created for the publication of original digital scholarship along with newly digitized critical and documentary editions in the humanities and social sciences. Contains numerous historical collections of letters, journals, and other papers, divided into two collections: American Founding Era (papers of Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, and others) and 19th Century Literature and Culture (letters of Christina Rossetti, Matthew Arnold and others).
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database.
Documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624.
The collection includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Early periodicals in the collection focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution. Common themes depicted in antebellum periodicals reveal a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, western expansion, and regional political differences were a daily reality for many Americans. The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented, documenting the conflict and its aftermath from a variety of perspectives and allowing readers to bear witness to this pivotal period in American history. Early twentieth century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.
Search every Gale Primary Source from a single, powerful interface. The refreshed user interface and updated tools make it easier than ever to find documents for research and teaching. The new interface now features integration with leading cloud storage systems for saving and organizing your documents. Learn more about this database.
