Portuguese-American Digital Newspapers: Includes some of the earliest known Portuguese-language newspapers in the United States, such as O Progresso Californiense, first published in July of 1885, may be accessed through the Internet for free and without a password. Each issue of the newspapers in the collection may be browsed in its entirety or searched by keyword. The site also offers the possibility of searching across all issues of the same paper or across all newspapers in the collection
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, sourced through partnerships with major world libraries. Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Digitized books in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Learn more about this database.
Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Full-text. 'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection ...totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Explore America's past through newspapers. The Libraries subscribe to Series 1, Series 3, Series 10, Series 12, and Series 13.
Brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. The Libraries have purchased Section I, Section II and Section IV.
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive Navigation Guide.
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
