A survey of the foremothers of Blues Music in the United States of America. Gain insight into their contribution to the music of artists like Beyonce, Nicki Minaj, and SZA along with the performance of sexuality that many Black women experience and imple
"Bessie Smith (1894-1937), also known as the Empress of Blues, is considered one of the greatest jazz and blues vocalists of the 1920s. Her influences can be seen and heard in performers such as Billie Holiday, Aretha Franklin, and Janis Joplin"
"Rainey was known for her powerful vocal abilities, energetic disposition, majestic phrasing, and a "moaning" style of singing. Her powerful voice was never adequately captured on her records, because she recorded exclusively for Paramount, which was known for its below-average recording techniques and poor shellac quality. However, her other qualities are present and most evident in her early recordings 'Bo-Weevil Blues' and 'Moonshine Blues'"
The Blues Archive at the University of Mississippi acquires and preserves blues and blues-related materials in a variety of formats for scholars of the blues, African American studies, and southern culture. With over 60,000 sound recordings, in most audio formats; over 20,000 photographs; more than 1,000 videos; over 34,000 books, periodicals and newsletters; and numerous manuscripts and ephemera, the Blues Archive houses one of the largest collections of blues recordings, publications, and memorabilia in the world. Important collections include B. B. King's personal record collection, the Jim O'Neal and Amy van Singel / Living Blues Collection, the Trumpet Records Collection, the Sheldon Harris Collection, the John Richbourg Collection, and the Percy Mayfield collection.
Collection composed of materials pertaining to blues-related projects: a film, Maxwell Street Blues (1980), and a book, Mother of the Blues: A Study of Ma Rainey (University of Massachusetts Press, 1981.) Included are photocopies of research materials about classic blues singer Gertrude "Ma" Rainey (1886 1939), four notebooks of research notes, negatives of illustrations used in the hook, transcriptions of song lyrics, and information concerning copyright registrations and renewals. Also included are taped interviews about Ma Rainey with musicians Clyde Bernhardt, Thomas Dorsey, Sam Chatmon, and Sunnyland Slim.